Tuesday, May 31, 2016

SCOTTISH WOMEN'S AMATEUR CHAMPIONSHIP - Connie Jaffrey leads the field after day one

First round leader
Connie Jaffrey
Connie Jaffrey (Troon Ladies) leads the field after the first day of stroke play qualifying at the Scottish Women’s Amateur Championship at a gloriously sunny West Kilbride today, Tuesday 31st May.

Scottish Golf News Bulletin

Connie Jaffrey, who is a member of Troon Ladies just down the Ayrshire coast, and was runner up in this championship in 2014, did not drop a shot during her four under opening round of 69, earning her the sole lead into the second day.

Four other Scottish women’s squad players finished one shot behind: Chloe Goadby from St Regulus Ladies, Germany-based Rachael Taylor from Golf Club am Reichswald, and Carnoustie Ladies’ Ailsa Summers and Jessica Meek.

Goadby also carded four birdies on day one after bogeying the first, and further impressed with an eagle three at the third and thirteenth, but these were cancelled out by a brace of double bogeys which brought her back to three under for the day.

Among the group of players tying for sixth at two under, is the 2014 Scottish Amateur champion Gabrielle MacDonald from Craigielaw, while last year’s winner, Clara Young from North Berwick, opened with a par 73.

The field will compete over a second round of stroke play tomorrow, before the top-32 qualifiers enter the matchplay stage from Thursday. The 18-hole final is played at West Kilbride from 8.30am on Saturday morning.

The Scottish Women’s Amateur Championship was first played in 1903, and notable previous multiple winners of the title include Belle Robertson, who won seven times, and Catriona Matthew who won three.

West Kilbride last hosted the Scottish Women’s Amateur Championship when Alison Rose won in 1997. The club on the Ayrshire coast, which hosted the Scottish Boys Championship in 2014, boasts spectacular views across the Firth of Clyde to Arran.

West Kilbride Golf Club

Par 73

69 - C Jaffrey (Troon Ladies)
70 - C Goadby (St Regulus), R Taylor (Reichswald, Germany), A Summers (Carnoustie Ladies), J Meek (Carnoustie Ladies)
71 - K McIntosh (Broomiknowe), E Briggs (Kilmacolm), G Macdonald (Craigielaw), L Whyte (St Regulus)
72 - R Walker (Dumfries and Co), T Mactaggart (Minto), C Young (North Berwick)
73 - E Watson (Muckhart), J Free (Gullane), S Leslie (Kemnay)
74 - K Beveridge (Aboyne), R Polson (Kemnay), K Brodie (Strathmore)
75 - S Wood (Drumpellier), K Marshall (Baberton), E Hale (Troon Ladies), M Stewart (Murcar Links)
76 - J Saxton (Muckhart), J Allan (Glenbervie), A McBride (Harburn)
77 - J Rankine (Haggs Castle), E Moffat (St Regulus), L Duncan (West Kilbride)
78 - L Ronnie (Kilmarnock Barassie), N Robertson (Stirling), J Mackintosh (Hazlehead)
79 - D Young (North Berwick), A Bartlett (Royal Dornoch), Katie Scott (Strathaven), G Paton (Royal Montrose)
80 - M Gardner (Linlithgow), K Reid (Monifieth), C Garrett (West Kilbride)
81 - L Fraser (Kingsknowe), C Thompson (Royal Dornoch)
82 - C Innes (Craigielaw), M Sievwright (Buckpool), A Glennie (Kilmarnock Barassie), H Scott (Broomieknowe)
83 - L Atkins (Minto), R Foster (Turnberry), M Briggs (Kilmacolm), R Hunter (Lanark), L Macdonald (Cardross), J Graham (Southerness)
85 - P Wilson (Burntisland)
87 - E O'Connot (Bothwell Castle)
88 - A McDonald (Bothwell Castle)
89 - N Callander (Welwyn Garden City), S Cameron (Gullane)
94 - C McLaughlin (West Kilbride)
95 - L Munro (Ayr Belleisle)

No comments: