Monday, April 18, 2016

AYRSHIRE CHAMPION OF CHAMPIONS - First round matches completed

 All the first round matches in the 2016 Ayrshire Champion Of Champions Trophy competition were completed on schedule this week.

Kevin Fergusson (Prestwick St Cuthbert) beat Darren Mallinson (Irvine Ravesnspark) by 4 & 3 at St Cuthbert and now has a home tie against Gary Steele (Brunston castle) in round two.

Gregor Mackintosh (Girvan) and Jack Broun (Ayr Belleisle) both won away from home, by 3&1 and 1 hole over Brian Robertson (Auchenharvie) and David Connolly (West Kilbride) respectively, and now meet at Girvan in the next round.

Derek Ballantyne (Ardeer) plays host to Jack Purdie (Largs Routenburn) in the second round, following his 3 & 2 away win over Derek Bryson (New Cumnock) in the opening round.

Former finalist Craig Hamilton (Ballochmyle) crushed fellow county player James Johnston (Prestwick St Nicholas) by 6 & 5 in their first round clash at Prestwick, and is now at home to Alistair Wright (Royal Troon) in round two.

Martin Moore (Tam O Shanter) had a 3 & 2 home win against Anthony Fraser (Annanhill) in the opening round and now travels to meet Campbell McCluskie (Crosshouse) in the second round following McCluskie's walkover in the opening round against Gavin Stuart (Braehead)

David Power (Troon St Meddans) recovered from a two hole deficit late in his match with Johnny O'Neill (NB Parkstone), finishing with a brace of birdies in the closing holes to win through by one hole and set up a second round trip to play Alan Oliver (Caprington).

The one remaining first round tie saw James McPherson (Whiting Bay) recording a 6 & 5 away win against Thomas Smith (Wallacetown) to secure a trip to meet Gordon Boyle (Turnberry) in round two.

All second round matches are due for completion by 15th May.

The full draw for the second round is :-

2nd Round 3rd Round
Played By:- 15th May 2016 Played By:- 19th June 2016
Kevin Ferguson (Prestwick St Cuthbert)  
Gary Steele (Brunston Castle)  
Gregor MacKintosh (Girvan)  
Jack Broun (AyrBelleisle)  
Derek Ballantyne (Ardeer)  
Jack Purdie (Largs Routenburn)  
Craig Hamilton (Ballochmyle)  
Alistair Wright (Royal Troon)  
Campbell McCluskie (Crosshouse)  
Martin Moore (Tam O'Shanter)  
Alan Oliver (Caprington)  
David Power (Troon St Meddans)  
Gordon Boyle (Turnberry)  
Jamis McPherson (Whiting Bay)  
John Sloan (Doon Valley)  
John Shanks (Irvine)  
Iain MacDonald (Largs)  
Craig Robertson (Abbotsford)  
Gordon Johnston (Kilbirnie Place)  
David Stark (Drongan)  
Scott McCune (Moorepark)  
Paul Denim (Loudoun)  
Ian Griffin (Alton)               Mark Gallagher (Rowallan Castle)
Mark Gallagher (Rowallan Castle) 4&2
Paul Moultrie (Holder - Royal Troon)                 Ricky Tait (Chase)
Richy Tait (Chase) W/O
Stuart Angus (Muirkirk)  
Sandy Riddell (Skelmorlie)  
Del Chaimberlain (Troon Welbeck)  
Chris Stirrat (Ayr Seafield)  
David Miller (Kilmarnock  Barassie)  
Robbie Stewart (Troon Portland)  

No comments: