Thursday, August 02, 2018

SCOTTISH AMATEUR CHAMPIONSHIP - Six Ayrshire players through to matchplay stage.

Six Ayrshire players are though to the matchplay stages of the 2018 Scottish Amateur Championship, being played this week at Blairgowrie GC.

The two strokeplay qualifying rounds saw Louis Murray (Troon Welbeck) through as the top qualifier from Ayrshire after rounds of 71 & 69 for a 140 total and joint sixth in the qualifying which was just three shots off the leading qualifiers score.

Also through from Ayrshire were:-

141 - Turnberry member Ben Ferguson from Australia 74/67
143 – Jim Johnston (Ayr Belleisle) 71/72
144 – Euan Walker (Kilmarnock Barassie) 73/71
144 – Stuart Easton (Irvine) 68/76
145 – Sandy Buchanan (Prestwick St Nicholas) 70/75

Players from Ayrshire who failed to qualify included Ayrshire Matchplay Champion Michael Smyth (Royal Troon), who missed out by a single shot with rounds of 71 & 76 for a three over par total of 147, along with boys international Jack Broun (Ayr Belleisle) who missed out by two shots after rounds of 78 & 80 for 148.

The other Ayrshire players going home after the strokeplay qualifying were:

149 – Robbie Muir (Kilmarnock Barassie) 73/76
150 – Iain Brown (West Kilbride) 78/72
151 – Blair Morton (Royal Troon) 74/77
151 – Shaun Hedger (West Kilbride) 78/73
153 – Mark Robertson (Western Gailes) 78/75
153 – Andy Brown (West Kilbride) 79/74
156 – Chris Harkins (Ayr Belleisle) 79/77
157 – Jordan Sweeney (Ayr Belleisle) 80/77
163 – John Rushbury (Royal Troon) 78/85
163 – Ewan Milligan (Kilmarnock Barassie) 84/79
166 – Chris McCalman (Ayr Belleisle) 82/84

The matchplay rounds start on Thursday 2nd August and the first round ties involving the Ayrshire players still in the championship are:-

Louis Murray (Troon Welbeck) Vs. Andrew Ni (Murrayfield)
John Paterson (St Andrews new) vs Stuart Easton (Irvine)
Jim Johnston (Ayr Belleisle) Vs. George Duncan (Windyhill)
Ben Ferguson (Turnberry/Australia) Vs. Lewis Bryce-Maynard (Moray)
Connor Wilson (Castle Park) Vs Sandy Buchanan (Prestwick St Nicholas)
Andrew Thornton (Lundin) Vs Euan Walker (Kilmarnock Barassie).

No comments: