Tuesday, August 14, 2018

AYRSHIRE JUNIOR ORDER OF MERIT - McCracken still leads but Broadfoot and Kelly make late title moves

The competition for the 2018 Ayrshire Junior Order Of Merit title is proving to be very close, with only three counting events remaining to be played.

The British Boys Championship this week is the third last counting event, with only Jack Broun (Ayr Belleisle) in the field for that competiton, and this leaves the destination of the 2018 title resting on the remaining two junior open competitions still to take place this year.

The remaining counting events are the Prestwick St Nicholas GC Junior Open on Sunday 9th September and the new Irvine GC Junior Open which will be held on Monday 24th September and is being included this year as a counting event alongside the previously published qualifying competitions.

Junior Order Of Merit leader
John McCracken
John McCracken (Kilmarnock Barassie) still leads the Ayrshire Junior Order Of Merit at present, from Harvey Broadfoot (Troon Welbeck) in second place and Ayrshire Boys Champion Sean Addie (Ayr Belleisle) in third.

A second place in the Ballochmyle Junior Open on 13th August for McCracken extended his advantage at the top of the table, however Harvey Broadfoot has stormed into contention for the title
with second places at Trump Turnberry and Ayr Belleisle junior opens, a joint second place at the Prestwick Boys Open at Prestwick St Cuthbert and a sixth place at Ballochmyle.

Ewan Milligan (Kilmarnock Barassie) is extremely close to a top three place after a semi final appearance in the Ayrshire Boys matchplay Championship, joint second at the Prestwick Boys Open and a third place at Ayr Belleisle put him into fourth place , less than two points behind Sean Addie.

Also making a significant move recently, and pushing himself into contention for a top three place, is John Kelly (Ayr Seafield) who gained maximum points at both the Ayr Belleisle and Ballochmyle junior opens  and a second place at the Prestwick Boys Open at Prestwick St Cuthbert to move into fifth place in the table.

The present positions with just three counting events remaining are:- 

488.3 JOHN McCRACKEN Kilmarnock Barassie
367.88 HARVEY BROADFOOT Troon Welbeck
300 SEAN ADDIE Ayr Belleisle
298.33 EWAN MILLIGAN Kilmarnock Barassie
258.33 JOHN KELLY Ayr Seafield
237.5 EUAN FERGUSON Turnberry
102.5 ROSS McDONALD Kilmarnock Barassie
100 RUBEN LINDSAY Ayr Belleisle
100 JACK BROUN Ayr Belleisle
100 ELLIOT THOM Turnberry
100 BEN WATSON Kilmarnock Barassie
92.5 KYLE McCAIG West Kilbride
90 ROB YORSTON Loudoun
56.25 CHRISTOPHER HUNTER Ballochmyle
53.3 JOSH DAVIES Troon Welbeck
50 JOHN JACK Millport
35 JORDAN ORR Ballochmyle
35 CONNOR WILLS Prestwick St Nicholas
33.75 KERR BROOKS Irvine
28.75 JACK ALLAN Ballochmyle
27.5 LEWIS McMILLAN Ballochmyle
21.67 PATRICK SMILEY Pr. St Nicholas
21.67 MAX BARCLAY Ayr Belleisle
21.67 LUKE GREIG Troon Welbeck
20 LIAM KIRKHAM Troon Welbeck
16.67 ALEC CLARK Troon Welbeck
16.67 DANIEL LONG Turnberry
11.67 CAMERON SHANKS Caprington
10 GLENN WILSON Ayr Dalmilling
10 FRASER RUSSELL Troon Welbeck
7.5 CALLUM GILLIGAN Troon Welbeck
5 DYLAN CAIRNS Pr. St Nicholas
5 CAMERON McGARVIE Prestwick St Nicholas

No comments: