Sunday, July 02, 2017

AYRSHIRE CLUB CHAMPIONSHIP - Ballochmyle secure title hat trick

Ballochmyle secured a third Ayrshire Club Championship title on Sunday 2nd July, when the 2017 competition was played over their home course.
Calum McKirdy, james McMurdo & William Fleming

Winners of the R.L. Crawford Trophy in 2002 and again in 2011, when they went on to win the Scottish Club Champions title, the team of William Fleming (69), Calum McKirdy (70) and James McMurdo (72) combined to produce a best two scores team total of 139 to take the title by three shots.

Early pace setters were Royal Troon whose three team members, Michael Smyth, Ian Walker and Stephen Spence each returned scores of 72 for a team total of 144.

Defending champions Prestwick St Cuthbert put up a stout defence, a 68 by Scott brown and 78's from both Greg Telfer and Graeme Gimson, giving them a team score of 146.

Overtaken by Ballochmyle for first place, the Royal Troon team looked destined to finish in runners up spot until the final game on the course saw Loudoun's John Haggarty return a best of the day 67 which, added to the 75 by Paul Kennedy, gave loudoun the runners up spot on 142 despite the team being reduced to only two players as a result of the non appearance of their third team member.

Ballochmyle will now go forward to represent Ayrshire in the Scottish Club Championship competition at Eastwood on 24th September.


Ayrshire Club Championship
Ballochmyle GC
SSS 69
CSS 71 (+2)

Best individual scratch score - John Haggarty (Loudoun) 67

Team Scores
139 - BALLOCHMYLE (W Fleming 69, C McKirdy 70, J McMurdo 72)
142 - LOUDOUN (P Kennedy 75, J Haggarty 67)
144 - ROYAL TROON (M Smyth 72, I walker 72, S Spence 72)
146 - PRESTWICK ST CUTHBERT - G Gimson 78, S Brown 68, G Telfer 78)
150 - KILMARNOCK BARASSIE (S Walker 76, S Miller 78, B Caldow 74)
151 - WEST KILBRIDE (A Brown 75, G Vogwell 76, G Higgins 78)
151 - IRVINE RAVENSPARK (D Mallinson 74, W McGill 81, D Brown 77)
151 - TROON WELBECK (I Smith 75, J Stevenson 84, C McGowan 76)
152 - AYR BELLEISLE (A Long 73, R McGuire 80, K Ottley 79)
152 - THE CHASE - R Tait 81, S Arrandale N/R, A Gordon 71)
154 - ROWALLAN CASTLE (G Wilson 81, I Houston 80, C Dickie 74)
154 - TAM O SHANTER (J Sloan 75, A Smeeton 79, J Gillon 81)
159 - NEW CUMNOCK (N McCormick 79, D Bryson N/R, M Riddell 80)
162 - TROON ST MEDDANS (A Irvine 78, A Gilligan 84, K Houston N/R)

No comments: