Friday, May 03, 2013

GLENMUIR PGA CHAMPIONSHIP - Fox leads qualifiers with Reid and Fleming also through

Graham Fox
 Ayrshire's Scottish PGA champion Graham Fox headed the 13 qualifiers for the Glenmuir PGA professional championship at De Vere Slaley Hall, Hexham when the Scottish qualifying round was held over the Lansdowne course at Blairgowrie Golf Club, Perthshire on Monday 29th April.
Fox (Clydeway Golf), a former West Kilbride Club Champion and Ayrshire Matchplay title winner, shot a two-under-par 70 to lift the £500 first prize and book his place in the field for the June 11 to 14 tournament.

All the action was in his first 10 holes with birdies at the first, second, nine and 10th, either side of bogeys at the sixth and eighth. He parred the last eight holes.

Alan Reid
Fellow Ayrshireman Alan Reid (West Lothian), who won the Scottish Boys and Scottish Strokeplay championships as a member of Klmarnock (Barassie),  collected the £300 runner-up prize with a 71, a round in which he had six birdies - two more than the winner - but a stretch of five bogeys between the seventh and 12th.
David Fleming
Amongst the other qualifiers was Prestwick GC professional David Fleming.

The qualifiers in a field of 55 were: Graeme Fox (Clydeway Golf), Alan Reid (West Lothian), Scott Catlin (Greenburn), David Orr (Mearns Castle), Garry Forrester (St Andrews Golf School), Kenny Hutton (Downfield), David Fleming (Prestwick), Stephen Lamb (Macdonald Cardrona), Paul Jamieson (Dunblane New), Christopher Tierney (Affordable Golf), Stewart Savage (Dalmuir), Craig Everett (Caldwell) and Jonathan Porteous (Craigielaw).

Fraser Mann (Musselburgh), Patrick Walker (Ballumbie Castle) and Ewan Hogarth (Peebles) had to settle for first, second and third reserve placings after being eliminated in a six-man play-off on 76 for the last three qualifying spots.

Scottish qualifying round
Blairgowrie Lansdowne course, Perthshire
Par 72
70 Graham Fox (Clydeway Golf).
71 Alan Reid (West Lothian).
72 Scott Catlin (Greenburn).
73 David Orr (Mearns Castle).
74 Garry Forrester (St Andrews Golf School), Kenny Hutton (Downfield), David Fleming (Prestwick), Stephen Lamb (Macdonald Cardrona).
75 Paul Jamieson (Dunblane New), Christopher Tierney (Affordable Golf).
76 Stewart Savage (Dalmuir), Craig Everett (Caldwell), Jonathan Porteous (Craigielaw).

76 (after a play-off) Fraser Mann (Musselburgh) alternate 1, Patrick Walker (Ballumbie Castle) alternate 2, Ewan Hogarth (Peebles) alternate 3.
77 Greig McSporran (Kinross), Richard Valentine (Loretto School Golf Academy).
78 Jonathan Sharp (Carrick on Loch Lomond), Mark Loftus (Mearns Castle), Nigel Scott-Smith (Palacerigg), Craig Ronald (Carluke), Lee Vannet (Carnoustie Golf Link), Gareth Hardy (Ayr Belleisle).
79 Fraser Dunlop (Gleneagles), Blair Cross (St Andrews Golf Academy), Craig Knowles (Panmure), Gordon Law (Uphall), Scott Herald (Meanrs Castle), Anthony Caira (Kirkcaldy), Norman Huguet (Musselburgh), Nick Walton (Glasgow), Daniel Wood (Hirsel).
80 Paul Edgecombe (Forrester Park), Craig Matheson (Falkirk Tryst), Ron Walker (Lundin), Alistair Brown (Arcdherfield), Iain Colquhoun (Dundonald), Anthony Mackrell (Playsport Golf), Andrew Cooper (Newmachar).
81 Neil Colquhoun (Merchants of Edinburgh), James Erskine (Portpatrick Dunskey).
(Details courtesy of the Cal Carson Golf Agency)

No comments: