Saturday, August 03, 2019

AYRSHIRE CHAMPION OF CHAMPIONS TROPHY - Hamilton and Muir through to the final

Craig Hamilton (Ballochmyle) and Robbie Muir (Kilmarnock Barassie) will meet in the final of the 2019 Ayrshire Champion of Champions Trophy competition after winning through their semi final matches over the Old Course at Royal Troon on Friday 2nd August.

5 & 3 winner
Craig Hamilton

In the first semi final Hamilton was up against Gordon Munro (Caprington) and a run of seven successive fours over the opening holes saw the Ballochmyle player to a three hole lead, which he extended to four holes with a birdie two at the world famous Postage Stamp and then went further ahead with a winning par four at the ninth to turn for home with a five hole lead.

Although Hamilton lost the eleventh and fourteenth, his advantage built up over the opening holes eventually saw him comfortably through to the final with a 5 & 3 victory.

In the second semi final Muir played Sandy Buchanan (Prestwick St Nicholas) in what proved to be a very tight match over the opening holes before turning in Muir's favour in the inward nine.

Buchanan took an early lead at the first with Muir immediately leveling at the next before going behind once again at the third.
3 & 2 winner
Robbie Muir

Two holes later, Muir took the lead for the first time, winning both the fourth and fifth to go one up.

The two players then matched each other for the remainder of the outward nine, the match turning for home with Robbie Muir one up. 

The turning point in the match came early in the inward half when a birdie three and a par four at the tenth and eleventh won both holes for Muir to give him a three hole advantage in the match.

Muir's lead was extended to four holes with a winning par four at the thirteenth and despite Buchanan pulling one back when he won the fiteenth, a par five at the sixteenth was good enough for Muir to half the hole for a 3 & 2 victory in the match.

Hamilton and Muir return to the Old Course at Royal Troon for the final next Friday, 9th August, for the final of the competition, with a 5.00 p.m. start. Spectators are welcome to attend the final and support the two finalists.

No comments: