Friday, August 02, 2013

ASYRSHIRE BOYS CHAMPIONSHIP - Louis Murray takes title at Ballochmyle

Ayrshire Boys Champion
Louis Murray

Louis Murray (Troon Welbeck) is the 2013 Ayrshire Boys Champion, winning the title by two shots at Ballochmyle GC on Thursday 1st August.

Whilst other events in the county were delayed or abandoned due to weather conditions, the players in the boys championship enjoyed reasonable weather, although a strong breeze added considerably to the challenge of the course.

In the morning round, Callum Gorrie (Kilmarnock Barassie) led the way with a three over par 73, with Louis Murray and Jack Thomas (Irvine) a shot further back on 74.

Murray McCrone (Troon Welbeck) was a shot further back on 75 after the morning round with Darryl Lynch (Ayr Belleisle) three shots off the lead on 76.

In the afternoon, Jack Thomas failed to reproduce his morning form, fading to an 87 to drop out of contention, whilst Louis Murray carded a second successive 74 to set the championship target at 148, eight over par.

Darryl Lynch threatened to match the total of his playing partner Murray, but a double bogey seven on the last saw him return a 74 to leave him two shots adrift of Murray. The last proved to be Lynch's undoing in the championship as he carded double bogey sevens in both the morning and the afternoon which greatly contributed to the championship slipping from his grasp.

A second round 76 saw Murray McCrone finish clear in fourth place as it became clear that the one player left on the course who could realistically challenge Murray's target was first round leader Callum Gorrie.

Gorrie struggled early on in his second round, two double bogeys in the first four holes contributing to him being six over par after five holes. The Kilmarnock Barassie boy steadied his game in the closing holes of the first nine to turn for home still six over for the round. As his morning form returned, Gorrie recorded three successive birdie threes from the eleventh hole to seriously renew his hopes for the title and despit a bogey four at the par three fourteenth, he remained just four over par with three holes to play.

A costly double bogey six at the sixteenth renewed the pressure on Gorrie, taking him to six over par for the round and leaving him needing to complete the final two holes in one under par to force a play off with Murray.

The new champion
With AGA Vice President James McMurdo
A par three at the seventeenth, and three shots to the green at the final hole left Gorrie needing to hole a 30 foot putt on the final green to tie with Murray. Gorrie's birdie effort was strong and never really challenged the hole, and his disappointment was compounded when he missed the return, finishing with a bogey six and a seven over par total of 77 for the second round.

The best nett score of the day was returned by host club member Andrew Davidson, the nine handicapper returning net scores of 73 & 70 for a 143 total, leaving him two shots clear of his nearest opponents.

At the conclusion of the championship, Ayrshire Golf Association Vice President James McMurdo (Ballochmyle) presented prizes to the successful competitors and handed the trophy and commemorative medal to the 2013 Ayrshire Boys Champion, Louis Murray.

Final Results :-

148 - Louis Murray (Troon Welbeck) 74/74
150 - Callum Gorrie (Kilmarnock Barassie) 73/77, Darryl Lynch (Ayr Belleisle) 76/74
151 - Murray McCrone (Troon Welbeck) 75/76
155 - Shaun Hedger (West Kilbride 78/77, Connor McKay (Loudoun) 80/75
156 - Jack Purdie (Largs) 78/78
157 - Craig McKenzie (Troon Welbeck) 79/78, Stewart Russell (Kilmarnock Barassie) 81/76
158 - Blair Gavin (Kilmarnock Barassie) 81/77, Adam Wilson 82/76
159 - Jordan Sweeney (Ayr Belleisle) 82/79, Ross McDonald (Irvine) 83/76
161 - Andrew Davidson (Ballochmyle) 82/79, Jack Thomas (Irvine) 74/87
163 - Jordan Fraser (Ayr Belleisle) 82/81
165 - Blair Fleming (Troon Welbeck) 84/81
166 - Andrew Bogle (Kilmarnock Barassie) 88/78
169 - Robert Meddings (Ayr Belleisle) 81/88, Ruairidh Sayce (Prestwick St Nicholas) 91/78
172 - Andrew Gordon (Ayr Belleisle) 85/87, Ewan Milligan (Loudoun) 84/88
173 - Stuart Fairgrieve (Irvine) 91/82
174 - Fraser Rigby (Kilmarnock Barassie) 94/80
175 - Connor Brooke (Prestwick St Nicholas) 91/84
179 - Stuart Hope (Kilmarnock Barassie) 93/85
181 - Stuart Dunlop (Kilmarnock Barassie 93/88
N/R - Robert Clark 88/nr 


No comments: