Thursday, April 26, 2012

AREA TEAM CHAMPIONSHIP - Ayrshire name team for Blairgowrie

The 2012 Ayrshire Area Team Championship side
TOP - Michael Smyth, Keith Hamilton, John Shanks
BOTTOM - Jack McDonald, Steven McEwan, David Wilson

The six man team to represent Ayrshire in the 2012 Area Team Championship, being held at Blairgowrie on 19th & 20th May, has been announced.

Fourth in 2010 and third in 2011, Ayrshire have named a strong side in their bid to land the 2012 title, to add to their previous successes in 1986 & 2008.

2011 Ayrshire Matchplay Champion Michael Smyth (Royal Troon) and the recent winner of the British Universities title and 2009 Scottish Boys Strokeplay winner Jack McDonald (Kilmarnock Barassie) are the only two players who were part of the bronze medal winning team at Prestwick in 2011.

2009 Doc Thom Order OF Merit winner and the runner up in the Ayrshire Strokeplay Championship last week, Keith Hamilton (Ayr Belleisle) is the lowest handicap player in the Ayrshire side, off + 4, whilst former internationalist Steven McEwan (Loudoun), a former Scottish Boys Strokeplay Champion and Scottish Amateur Championship finalist brings vast experience of golf at the highest level to the side.

Former Ayrshire Strokeplay winner John Shanks (Irvine), a member of the last Area Team Championship winning Ayrshire side, returns to the team after an absence last year whilst the 2011 Scottish Boys Champion David Wilson (Troon Welbeck), who won the Ayrshire Strokeplay title for the first time last week, completes the six man Ayrshire team.

No comments: