Monday, July 08, 2013

AYRSHIRE CLUB CHAMPIONSHIP - Triumph for Turnberry at Barassie

Turnberry Golf Club won the R.L. Crawford Trophy and Ayrshire Club Champions title for the first time, at Kilmarnock (Barassie) on Sunday 7th July, with a four stroke victory over nearest rivals Rowallan Castle.
AGA President Milton Murray presenting the R L Crawford Trophy to
the Turnberry team, Dominic Booth, Gordon Boyle and Scott Brown.

19 clubs took part in the championship, which was played in perfect conditions. The course was in fine order but the ferocious rough, evident on many local courses this summer, took its toll on many of the competitors, with only three players in the field of 57 breaking par.

Craig Hamilton (Ballochmyle) set the early individual target with a two under par 70, despite losing a ball during his round, and his score was matches shortly afterwards by Gary Allison (Rowallan Castle) whose better inward half ultimately gave him the award for the best individual return of the day.

Despite Hamilton's score, the 2011 champions, who went on to win the Scottish title that year, could only manage a best two from three score total of 150, which led briefly before being pipped by Rowallan Castle who recorded a 149 total.

Rowallan Castle retained their lead until the closing matches when Scott Brown of Turnberry recorded a one under par 71, only the third score under par for the day, which added to Gordon Boyle's 74 gave Turnberry a team total of 145 and the title by four shots ahead of the field.

At the conclusion of play, Ayrshire Golf Association President Milton Murray presented prizes to the successful players and teams before handing over the trophy to Gordon Boyle on behalf of Turnberry GC.

The CSS for the competition was 76 (+2).

Turnberry now go forward as Ayrshire's representatives in the Scottish Club Championship which is scheduled to take place at Lufness New GC on Sunday 29th September.

Final Scores :-

145 - TURNBERRY (Gordon Boyle 74, Scott Brown 71, Dominic Booth N/R)
149 - ROWALLAN CASTLE (Neil Black 79, Gary Allison 70, David Kinnell 91)
150 - BALLOCHMYLE (Craig Hamilton 70, Graeme Rowan 84, William Fleming 80)
155 - GIRVAN (Gary Bryden 72, Steven Stamper, 85, William McMeikan 83)
155 - PRESTWICK ST NICHOLAS (Alastair Belford 74, Kenny Houston 90, Sandy Buchanan 81)
156 - IRVINE (Mark Anderson 77, Stuart Easton 79, Colin Gray 81)
156 - TROON WELBECK (Colin Craig N/R, Stephen Murray 77, Del Chamberlain 79)
157 - AYR BELLEISLE (Lee Hughes 77, Andy Jess 80, Kyle Dunn N/R)
158 - PRESTWICK ST CUTHBERT (Craig Telfer N/R, Greg Telfer 78, Graeme Gimson 80)
159 - ARDEER (Derek Ballantyne N/R, Robbie Fitzpatrick 83, Sandy Walker 76)
159 - KILMARNOCK BARASSIE (David Miller 76, Greg Vernon N/R, Stuart Miller 83)
160 - TROON ST MEDDANS (Kenny Milliken 79, Mark Stewart 81, David Power 86)
163 - CAPRINGTON (Barrie McDonnell 83, Mark Smith N/R, David Cook 80)
167 - WEST KILBRIDE (George Higgins 79, Peter Gossman N/R, Gary Vogwell 88)
168 - DOON VALLEY (Jamie McCrae N/R, John Sloan 88, David Sloan 80)
N/R - TAM O SHANTER (Steven Bolland 79, Gregor McPherson N/R, Joe Gillon N/R)
N/R - BRUNSTON CASTLE (Frank Murdoch 80, John Neilan N/R, James Wallace N/R)
N/R - NEW CUMNOCK (Tommy Keddie N/R, Derek Bryson N/R, Charles Allan 89)
N/R - IRVINE RAVENSPARK (George Robertson, Darren Mallinson William McGill - all N/R)

No comments: