Monday, September 02, 2019

WEST OF SCOTLAND INTER COUNTY UNDER 18 LEAGUE - Ayrshire retain The Wishart Trophy in final day drama

The Ayrshire Golf Association Under 18 county team retained the David Wishart Trophy and West Of Scotland Inter County Under 18 Championship title in dramatic style on Sunday 1st September 2019 with a win over Stirlingshire at Falkirk Golf Club.

With three wins from four in the series, Ayrshire went into their final match knowing that they needed to record a better result than nearest rivals Renfrewshire, who were away to Lanarkshire at Wishaw in their final fixture, to retain the title they won for the first time in twenty two years in 2018.

In the lead Under 16 tie John McCracken (Kilmarnock Barassie) lost by 3 & 1 but wins by 8&6 from Fraser Russell (Royal Troon), 3&2 from Harvey Broadfoot (Troon Welbeck) and 2&1 by Ayrshire Boys Champion Kerr Brooks (Irvine)  put Ayrshire 3 - 1 ahead with the under 16 ties completed.

Rob Yorston (Loudoun) and Harvey McDonald (Ayr Belleisle) lost their ties by 4&3 and 2&1 respectively to level the match score for Stirlingshire but in the penultimate tie jack Allan (Ballochmyle) won through by 3&2 to put Ayrshire ahead 4 - 3.

The new Ayrshire Boys Matchplay Champion Ross McDonald (Kilmarnock Barassie) was in the anchor tie for Ayrshire and he showed all his matchplay mettle on the final green, securing a vital half match to give Ayrshire the match by 4.5 - 3.5 to maintain their title hopes.

With the match concluded, news filtered through that the match between Lanarkshire and Renfrewshire had also been decided in the final tie, on the final green, and to Ayrshire's joy the ultimate result was a 4 - 4 draw, which ensured that Ayrshire would retain the West League title in 2019.
The winning Ayrshire Under 18 team against Stirlingshire at Falkirk
With Team Manager Scott Gilchrist

Match details (Ayrshire names first):-

John McCracken (Kilmarnock Barassie) lost to George Cannon (Glenbervie) by 3&1
Fraser Russell (Royal Troon) beat Wallace McInnes (Dunblane) by 8&6
Havey Broadfoot (Troon Welbeck) beat Louis Cowie (Bridge of Allan) by 3&2
Kerr Brooks (Irvine) beat Liam Breslin (Callander) by 2&1
Rob Yorston (Loudoun) lost to Ross Laird (falkirk) by 4&3
Harvey McDonald (Ayr Belleisle) lost to Austin Cantlay (Callander) by 3&2
Jack Allan (Ballochmyle) beat Ross Gilfillan (Falkirk) by 3&2
Ross McDonald (Kilmarnock Barassie) halved with Sebastian Sandin (Dunblane)


Throughout the five match series Ayrshire used a total of fifteen players. The players who contributed to the succesful title defence were:-

Harvey McDonald (Ayr Belleisle)
Harvey Broadfoot (Troon Welbeck)
Sean Addie (Ayr Belleisle)
John McCracken (Kilmarnock Barassie)
Fraser Russell (Royal Troon)
Dylan Cairns (Prestwick St Nicholas)
Kerr Brooks (Irvine)
Josh Davies (Troon Welbeck)
Kyle McCaig (West Kilbride)
Rob Yorston (Louodun)
Ruben Lindsay (Ayr Belleisle)
Christopher Hunter (Ballochmyle)
Jack Allan (Ballochmyle)
Max Barclay (Ayr Belleisle)
Jamie McKinnon (Caprington)

No comments: