Tuesday, September 18, 2018

AYRSHIRE JUNIOR GOLF LEAGUE - League Championship win for Ayr Belleisle whilst Robbie Muir takes Champion Of Champions crown.

Two more Ayrshire Junior Golf  League finals were completed on Sunday 16th September at Caprington when the League Championship and Champion Of Champions finals were scheduled.
The winning Ayr Belleisle team
with the Ayrshire Junior Golf league Championship trophy

Ayr Belleisle are the 2018 Ayrshire Junior Golf League Champions following a very close match with Kilmarnock (Barassie) in the final at Caprington on Sunday 16th September.

With both teams having identical records in their league sections, all the way down ties for and against it was always likely to be a close match, as it proved to be, with a number of the ties being settled on the final green.

In the lead tie, Sean Addie (Ayr Belleisle) lost out to his Ayrshire boys team mate Ewan Milligan by a single hole in a closely fought encounter.

2018 Ayrshire Junior Golf League Champions - Ayr Belleisle

In the second tie, John Kelly of Belleisle started well against John McCracken but was pulled back over the mid round holes before Kelly rallied to secure a 3&2 victory.

In the third tie, Ross McDonald (Kilmarnock Barassie) and Callum Byers were well match over the opening holes before McDonald edged two ahead with three to play. Byers wasn’t finished however, as he pegged McDonald back to take the tie to the eighteenth before he succumbed to a one hole defeat.

The fourth tie also proved to be a close encounter with Lewis Connor (Belleisle) fighting back to secure a single hole victory over Ben Watson.

In what would prove to be a crucial tie, Daniel Long played some great golf  to beat Craig Erentz by 5&4 and to give the Belleisle team a crucial draw overall at the least.

In the anchor tie, Harvey McDonald lost out by 2&1 to Aiden Tasker.

With the final score tied at 3-3, the countback over the results of the individual ties led to the announcement of Ayr Belleisle as the 2018 Ayrshire Junior Golf League Champions.

 Match details (Ayr Belleisle names first):-

Sean Addie lost to Ewan Milligan by 1 hole
John Kelly beat John McCracken by 3&2
Callum Byers lost to Ross McDonald by 1 hole
Lewis Connor beat Ben Watson by 1 hole.
Daniel Long beat Craig Erentz by 5&4
Harvey McDonald  lost to Aiden tasker by 2&1

Ayr Belleisle win 15 – 5 on the countback)

2018 winner
Robbie Muir
In the final of the Champion Of Champions Trophy competition, Robbie Muir (Kilmarnock Barassie) was scheduled to play Adam Carballo (Prestwick St Cuthbert).

 Illness on the morning of the final for Carballo prevented the final going ahead and despite the best efforts of the Ayrshire Junior Golf League to have an alternative date identified, Adam Carballo decided to forfeit the tie and Robbie Muir was announced as the 2018 winner, at the trophy presentation which followed the conclusion of the AJGL Final match.

No comments: