Monday, September 24, 2018

AYRSHIRE JUNIOR GOLF LEAGUE - Ayr Belleisle win the Wallace Thornton Trophy

Ayr Belleisle won the Ayrshire Junior Golf League scratch club knockout competition for the Wallace Thornton Trophy on Saturday 22nd September when they beat Kilmarnock (Barassie) in the final at Caprington GC.

Wallace Thornton Trophy winners
Ayr Belleisle
Having come out on top the previous week in the meeting of the same two clubs for the Ayrshire Junior Golf League Championship, the Ayr Belleisle team were hoping to do the double, but faced a strong Klmarnock Barassie side.

In the lead tie, Ruben Lindsay got the Belleisle bid off to the best start possible with a 5&3 win over John McCracken and Belleisle's hold on the trophy was almost assured when Sean Addie beat Ben Watson by 3&1 to put his side 2-0 ahead.

In the third tie, the honour of securing a clear win for the Belleisle team fell to Drew Cleaver who had a half match with Ewan Milligan to gain a vital half point for his team.

Ross McDonald won the final point for Kilmarnock Barassie in the anchor tie with a single hole victory over John Kelly.
The Wallace Thornton finalists at Caprington

Match details (Ayr Belleisle names first):-

Ruben Lindsay beat John McCraken by 5&3
Sean Addie beat Ben Watson by 3&1
Drew Cleaver halved with Ewan Milligan
John Kelly lost to Ross McDonald by 1 hole

Ayr Belleisle 2.5   Kilmarnock Barassie 1.5

No comments: