Wednesday, February 06, 2019

AYRSHIRE JUNIOR GOLF LEAGUE - New administration in place as draws are made for 2019 competitions.

The new officers of the Ayrshire Junior Golf League were in place for the first meeting of the year on Tuesday 5th February, when the draw were made for the various Ayrshire Junior Golf League competitions in 2019.

At the 51st AGM held in december 2018, long serving officials Billy tait and Robin Baker stood down as Secretary and Treasurer respectively.

Assistant Secretary Gavin Scott of Loudoun was elected to the position of Secretary whilst Hugh McAllister of irvine GC was elected Assistant Secretary and Colin Headley (Irvine) was elected Treasurer.

Scott Gilchrist remains as the AJGL representative to the Ayrshire Golf Association and will be joined in that role by Martin Cairns.

West Kilbride GC will hold the Chairmanship in 2019, with Irvine GC holding the Vice Chairmanship.

Ten clubs will contest the AYRSHIRE JUNIOR GOLF LEAGUE CHAMPIONSHIP this year, with the winners of the two qualifying sections going forward to contest the league Championship final in September.

With matches to be played throughout the summer, and concluded by 31st August, the two qualifying sections are :-

SECTION A - Ballochmyle, Caprington, Prestwick St Nicholas, Kilmarnock Barassie & Irvine

SECTION B - West Kilbride, Loudoun, Prestwick St Cuthbert, Ayr Belleisle & Troon Welbeck

In the UNDER 16 KNOCKOUT COMPETITION, there are three first round ties, which are due to be completed by 30th June. Holders Kilmarnock barassie received a bye in the first round.

The first round ties are:-

Ballochmyle vs. Caprington
Irvine Vs Loudoun
Troon Welbeck Vs. Prestwick St Cuthbert

The draw for the second round was also made at the meeting, with ties to be completed by 31st July. The second round draw is :-

Troon Welbeck or Prestwick St Cuthbert Vs. Ballochmyle or Caprington
Ardeer vs. Ayr Belleisle
West Kilbride vs Prestwick St Nicholas
Irvine or Loudoun Vs Kilmarnock Barassie

The draw was also made for the JUNIOR CHAMPION OF CHAMPIONS TROPHY competition at the meeting.

The first round ties, to be played by 30th June, are :-

Ardeer Vs Ayr Belleisle
Ayrshire Boys Champion vs Loudoun
Ballochmyle Vs Ayrshire Boys Matchplay Champion
Caprington Vs irvine
Kilmarnock Barassie Vs Prestwick St Nicholas

The draw for the second round, to be played by 31st July, is:-

Kilmarnock Barassie or Prestwick St Nicholas Vs Ayrshire Boys Champion or Loudoun
Ballochmyle or Ayrshire Boys Matchplay Champion Vs Ardeer or Ayr Belleisle
Prestwick St Cuthbert Vs Caprington or Irvine
Troon Welbeck Vs West Kilbride

Finally, the draw was made for the WALLACE THORNTON TROPHY competition, which has had a slight change of format this season, becoming a straight knockout event, played over two legs.

The holders Ayr Belleisle received a bye into the second round. The draw for the first round, with matches to be completed by 30th June, is:-

Irvine Vs Prestwick St Nicholas
Caprington Vs Troon Welbeck
Ballochmyle Vs Kilmarnock Barassie

The draw for the second round, with ties to be completed by 31st July, is:-

West Kilbride vs Ardeer
Ballochmyle or Kilmarnock Barassie vs Prestwick St Cuthbert
Loudoun Vs Irvine or Prestwick St Nicholas
Caprington or Troon Welbeck Vs Ayr Belleisle.

All the competition finals will be held in September at West Kilbride and the Aannual Dinner and Presentation of Trophies of the Ayrshire Junior Golf League will bring the season to a close on Monday 4th November when it also takes place at West Kilbride.

No comments: