Monday, October 29, 2018

AYRSHIRE GOLF ASSOCIATION A.G.M. - John W. Watt elected Area President as Iain Harvey received Honorary position.

New Ayrshire Golf Association President
John W. Watt
John W. Watt (Prestwick St Cuthbert) was elected as the new President of The Ayrshire Golf Association at the Annual General Meeting at Caprington Golf Club on Tuesday 23rd October 2018.

A retired bank manager, John Watt is a long standing member of his home club and is well known in Ayrshire golfing circles, having worked at a number of local courses since his retirement, including Brunston Castle and Rowallan Castle.

John will serve as president for a two year period, from 2018 to 2020.

The Annual General Meeting was attended by representatives of fourteen member clubs, who received and approved the various annual reports on Area matters including finance, coaching, course rating and The Ayrshire Junior Golf League.

Outgoing President John Rushbury (Royal Troon) thanked the membership and executive members for allowing him the honour of serving as President of The Association, as he moved on to serve his two year term as immediate Past President.

Vice President Scott Gilchrist

The new Vice President for the forthcoming two year period is Scott Gilchrist (Loudoun) who is a former Club Champion of his home club and has been heavily involved in junior golf for a number of years, both at club and county level.

Alasdair J Malcolm (Prestwick St Cuthbert) was re-elected as Secretary/Treasurer of The Association for 2018 -19.

The retiring members of the executive Committee in 2018 were Robert Wilson (Balloch,yle), Hugh McKenzie (Troon Welbeck), Gordon Boyle (Turnberry) and Iain Harvey (Kilmarnock Barassie).

In addition Peter Doyle (Troon Welbeck) and Past President Milton Murray (Irvine) intimated their intention to stand down from the executive from the date of the A.G.M, and appreciation was expressed for the service given by both individuals and in particulary Milton Murray who had served in a number of posts over a long period, culminating in his period as President from 2012 to 2014.

Robert Wilson, Hugh McKenzie and Gordon Boyle were all nominated and stood succesfully for re-election to The Executive at the A.G.M.

A number of vacancies for periods of one, two and three years remain on the Area Executive and any interested individuals who may wish to become involved in the work of the Area Association should contact the Area Secretary who can provide further information on the work of The Ayrshire Golf Association.

Honorary Life President Iain Harvey

On the proposal of Past Presidents Alasdair J Malcolm and Ricky Magee, the meeting unanimously elected Iain Harvey (Kilmarnock Barassie) an Honorary Life President of The Association, in recognition of his services to The Ayrshire Golf Association and the wider golfing community in Scotland.

Iain served continuously on the Ayrshire executive since 1987, holding many positions, and serving as President from 1996 to 1998.

Iain also represented The Association on the Scottish Golf Union Council for a number of years, prior to the amalgamation with the Scottish Ladies' Golfing Association, which culminated in his election as Scottish Golf Union President for 2013 -14.

In recognition of his election as an Honorary Life President, Iain Harvey was presented with a commemorative plaque to mark the occasion.

Ian now joins Matt Lygate (Troon Portland) and R. Leslie Crawford (Klmarnock Barassie) as Honorary Life Presidents of The Association.

Prior to the conclusion of the meeting the member clubs were advised the the Scottish Golf per capita subscription would rise for the forthcoming season from £11.25 to £14.50 following approval at a recent E.G.M. of the national governing body, and the members also voted to accept the proposal from The executive that the per capita payment payable to The Ayrshire Golf Association should remain at the present level of £2.60 for the forthcoming year.

Further information on the Ayrshire Golf Association subscriptions and entry forms for the extended area competitions will be forwarded to all member clubs in the near future.

No comments: