Monday, August 22, 2011

SCOTTISH CLUB HANDICAP CHAMPIONSHIP - 3 Ayrshire clubs through to Grand Final

Three clubs from Ayrshire have qualified for the Grand Final of the Belhaven Best Scottish Club Handicap Championship, which will take place at the Fairmont, St Andrews on Friday 30th September.

All three Ayrshire qualifiers came through the West area qualifying event held at Lenzie on Friday 19th August, played in a better ball format with 3/4 handicap allowance.

With the top 10 teams in the qualifier going through to the national final, Gerrard Mullen & William McCormick (Ayr Dalmilling) finished in joint second place on five under par, three shots behind the leading team from Esporta Dougalston.

Joining the Ayr Dalmilling team in the final will be Ian Hoynes & Tommy Saunders (West Kilbride) who were one shot further back on four under par, and Gordon Neil & Alan Smeeton (Chase) who finished in equal sixth place on three under par, right on the qualifying mark.

Other Ayrshire scores :-

-2  -- Robert Scullion & Donald Kemp (Ayr Belleisle)
-2  -- Tom Reid & Alex Young (Stewarton)
-1  -- Jim Barrie & David Kinnell (Saxone)
+1 -- Derek Chamberlain & Jim Marshall (Troon Welbeck)
+1 -- Allan Parsons & John McFadzean (Glacier)
+1 -- John McGinn & Alex Ferguson (New Cumnock)
+2 -- Iain Sillars & Iain McMillan (Brodick)
+2 -- Stuart Docherty & Alan McEwan (Crosshouse)
+3 -- Gavin Gibson & Jim Wilson (Tam O Shanter)
+4 -- Dougie Beattie & Scott McDicken (Ayr Seafield)
+5 -- Jim Murrey & John Hillard (Girvan)
+8 -- Tom McClemments & Tony McGuffie (Troon Merchants)
nr -- Robert Hetherington & Hugh Watson (Abbotsford) 

No comments: