Saturday, January 14, 2012

AYRSHIRE MATCHPLAY COMPETITIONS - two weeks until closing date for 2012 championships

There is only two weeks to go until the closing date for enties into three of the premier Ayrshire Golf Association events in 2012.

The closing date for all three events is 31st January.

The Scratch (Summer) Leagues are contested throughout the summer with teams representing competing clubs playing in five leagues.

Entries received for 2012, as of 14th January, are :-

Troon Welbeck
Kilmarnock (Barassie)
Troon St Meddans
West Kilbride
Irvine Ravenspark
Doon Valley
Prestwick St Nicholas

24 entries have been received, as of 14th January, for the Champion Of Champions competition, which is open to the club champions or championship runners up of competing clubs, who play on a scratch basis throughout the summer in a bis for a place in the semi finals and final at Royal Troon in September. Entries received to date are :-

Scott Brown (Holder)
Barrie McDonnell (Fenwick)
Euan Brown (Kilmarnock Barassie)
Ian Fraser (Troon St Meddans)
Andrew Carroll (Drongan)
Ricky Tait (Chase)
Craig Robertson (Abbotsford)
David Kinnell (Saxone)
Peter Bond (Irvine Ravenspark)
Steven Jackson (Wallacetown)
Gary Jordan (Crosshouse)
Brian Robertson (Auchenharvie 88)
Stephen Murray (Troon Welbeck)
Kenneth Campbell (Ayr Carrick)
Malcolm McKay (Maybole)
Alan Mulholland (Moorpark)
Euan Findlay (Alton)
Jim Shearer (West Kilbride)
James Graham (Doon Valley)
Jim Anderson (Skelmorlie)
Alan Poole (Prestwick St Nicholas)
Scott Gilchrist (Loudoun)
Derek Yates (Braehead)
Michael Smyth (Royal Troon)

23 couples have been entered so far in the Ayrshire Fourball Championship.

Played on a handicap basis throughout the season, the entries received by 14 January are :-

Michael Holland & Stephen Holland (Troon Welbeck)
Colin Thom & William Wilson (Kilmarnock Barassie)
A Cherry & E McFadden (Troon St Meddans)
Andrew Turnbull & David Cook (Fenwick)
John Frame & Stephen McPike (Drongan)
Alan Muir & Brian Stewart (Chase)
Chalmers Thomson & William Telford (Abbotsford)
Michael O'Brien & Ronnie Allison (Saxone)
Willie Morgan & Willie Morgan Jnr. (Irvine Ravenspark)
Graeme Reid & Alec Reid (Wallacetown)
Colin Berry & Derek Young (Crosshouse)
David Hamilton & George Vogan (Auchenharvie 88)
David Paterson & Brian McTaggart (Ayr Carrick)
John Urie & Gary Steele (Maybole)
Mick McGowan & Gerry Reid (Alton)
Alan Mulholland & James McGill (Moorpark)
Peter Gossman & Bryan Gossman (West Kilbride)
James Graham & Marc Wallace (Doon Valley)
Kevin Brock & Russell Whittaker (Prestwick St Nicholas)
Thomas McGill & Jimmy Lynch (Malletsheugh)
Jim Anderson & Paul Church (Skelmorlie)
Graeme Gebbie & John Houston (Loudoun)
Derek Yates & Tom Boyd (Braehead)

Any club still wishing to enter any of the three competitions should forward completed entry forms to the Ayrshire Golf Association Secretary, along with the relevant fees, as soon as possible.

The Secretary's of all member clubs were circulated with the entry forms, via email, on 1st November 2011.

Should any club require a further copy of the relevant entry form, this can be obtained by contacting the AGA Secretary at

No comments: