Monday, January 23, 2012

AYRSHIRE MATCHPLAY COMPETITIONS - Entries for 2012 events close next week

Entries for three of the premier Ayrshire Golf Association events in 2012 must be in the habnds of The Secretary by Tuesday 31st January at the latest.

The Scratch (Summer) Leagues are contested throughout the summer with teams representing competing clubs playing in five leagues.

Entries received for 2012, as of 22nd January, are :-

New Cumnock
Tam O'Shanter
Brunston Castle
Prestwick St Cuthbert
Ayr Belleisle
Troon Welbeck
Kilmarnock (Barassie)
Troon St Meddans
West Kilbride
Irvine Ravenspark
Doon Valley
Prestwick St Nicholas

Of last years participants, entries are still awaited from

Kilbirnie Place
Ayr Dalmilling
Rowallan Castle

38 entries have been received, as of 22nd January, for the Champion Of Champions competition, which is open to the club champions or championship runners up of competing clubs, who play on a scratch basis throughout the summer in a bis for a place in the semi finals and final at Royal Troon in September. Entries received to date are :-
Nicol Auld (Whiting Bay)
Fraser McCall (Troon Portland)
Derek Bryson (New Cumnock)
Nicholas Tindall (Tam O Shanter)
Gary Bryden (Turnberry Staff)
Scott McCahill (Brunston Castle)
Robert Steele (Prestwick St Cuthbert)
Gordon Boyle (Ayr Belleisle)
Andrew Cunning Jnr (Muirkirk)
William Wilson (Ballochmyle)
Steven Dunn (Ayr Seafield)
Brian Gray (Beith)
Iain McDonald (Largs)
Stuart White (Girvan)Scott Brown (Holder)
Barrie McDonnell (Fenwick)
Euan Brown (Kilmarnock Barassie)
Ian Fraser (Troon St Meddans)
Andrew Carroll (Drongan)
Ricky Tait (Chase)
Craig Robertson (Abbotsford)
David Kinnell (Saxone)
Peter Bond (Irvine Ravenspark)
Steven Jackson (Wallacetown)
Gary Jordan (Crosshouse)
Brian Robertson (Auchenharvie 88)
Stephen Murray (Troon Welbeck)
Kenneth Campbell (Ayr Carrick)
Malcolm McKay (Maybole)
Alan Mulholland (Moorpark)
Euan Findlay (Alton)
Jim Shearer (West Kilbride)
James Graham (Doon Valley)
Jim Anderson (Skelmorlie)
Alan Poole (Prestwick St Nicholas)
Scott Gilchrist (Loudoun)
Derek Yates (Braehead)
Michael Smyth (Royal Troon)

With 48 competitors in last years event, a number of participant clubs in 2011 have not submitted a representative so far for this seasons event.

35 couples have been entered so far in the Ayrshire Fourball Championship, up to and including entries received by 22nd January.

Played on a handicap basis throughout the season, the entries received by 14 January are :-

Allan Johnston & Craig Devlin (Glacier)
David & Iain Macdonald (Largs)
Robert Marshall & Philip Rooney (Beith)
James McComiskey & Adam Cairns (Troon Portland)
Derek & Robert Bryson (New Cumnock)
John Cavens & Christopher McGhee (Tam O Shanter)
George & David McCulloch (Brunston Castle)
Johnny & Craig Telfer (Prestwick St Cuthbert)
Andrew Brown & John McBean (Ayr Belleisle)
Andrew Cunning Jnr & John Renwick (Muirkirk)
John Batchelor & Gavin Strang (Ballochmyle)
Alan McDougall & Shaun Granger (Ayr Seafield)
Michael Holland & Stephen Holland (Troon Welbeck)
Colin Thom & William Wilson (Kilmarnock Barassie)
A Cherry & E McFadden (Troon St Meddans)
Andrew Turnbull & David Cook (Fenwick)
John Frame & Stephen McPike (Drongan)
Alan Muir & Brian Stewart (Chase)
Chalmers Thomson & William Telford (Abbotsford)
Michael O'Brien & Ronnie Allison (Saxone)
Willie Morgan & Willie Morgan Jnr. (Irvine Ravenspark)
Graeme Reid & Alec Reid (Wallacetown)
Colin Berry & Derek Young (Crosshouse)
David Hamilton & George Vogan (Auchenharvie 88)
David Paterson & Brian McTaggart (Ayr Carrick)
John Urie & Gary Steele (Maybole)
Mick McGowan & Gerry Reid (Alton)
Alan Mulholland & James McGill (Moorpark)
Peter Gossman & Bryan Gossman (West Kilbride)
James Graham & Marc Wallace (Doon Valley)
Kevin Brock & Russell Whittaker (Prestwick St Nicholas)
Thomas McGill & Jimmy Lynch (Malletsheugh)
Jim Anderson & Paul Church (Skelmorlie)
Graeme Gebbie & John Houston (Loudoun)
Derek Yates & Tom Boyd (Braehead)

43 clubs entered the event last year, so again some of the participants from 2011 still need to submit their entry for the 2012 event.

Any club still wishing to enter any of the three competitions should forward completed entry forms to the Ayrshire Golf Association Secretary, along with the relevant fees, as soon as possible.
The Secretary's of all member clubs were circulated with the entry forms, via email, on 1st November 2011.

Should any club require a further copy of the relevant entry form, this can be obtained by contacting the AGA Secretary at

No comments: