Wednesday, October 26, 2011


The Annual General Meeting of the Ayrshire Golf Association took place at Caprington Golf Club on Monday 24th October.

18 of the 65 member clubs were represented at the meeting, with appologies received from a further 10 clubs. At the meeting the undernoted rerports covering the 2011 season were approved :-

Presidents Report - by AGA President David Miller
Financial Report - by Secretary / Treasurer Alasdair Malcolm
Coaching Report - by coaching convenor John Nordbo
Course Rating Report - by course rating convenor Allan Muir
Ayrshire Junior Golf League Report - by AJGL secretary John Nordbo
Scottish Golf Union Report - by SGU representative Iain Harvey

David Miller & Milton Murray

With President David Miller (Kilmarnock Barasie) and Vice President Milton Murray (Largs) mid way through their two year term of their respective posts, the only elections required were those of Secretary/Treasurer, SGU Representative and five Executive posts, by rotation.
Alasdair Malcolm & Iain Harvey

Alasdair Malcolm (Prestwick St Nicholas) was re elected Secretary / Treasurer whilst Iain Harvey (Kilmarnock Barassie) was re elected as AGA representative to the Scottish Golf Union.

Allan Muir, John Duncan & Ronnie Potts

The three Executive members due to retire by rotation were Allan Muir (Caprington), John Duncan (Troon Portland) and Ronnie Potts (Irvine Ravenspark). having indicated their intention seek re election, all three serving members were duly re elected to The Executive for a further three year term.

With a further two vacancies on the Executive for a three year term available, and a further two nominations received by the due date, the AGA Executive welcome two new members into service until 2014.

John Rushbury
JOHN RUSHBURY is the serving Secretary /Manager at Rowallan Castle Golf Club and a former PGA assistant professional. A member of Kilmarnock (Barassie) and Caprington as well as Rowallan castle, John has served these clubs in a number of positions in the past.

Mike Hazlewood
MIKE HAZLEWOOD is a member of Ayr Neptune Golf Club as well as Glasgow Gailes GC. A qualified accountant, Mike has had a long involvement in hockey administration at national, County and club level and has also had involvement in administration at a number of golf clubs over the years, including his present post as Secretary of Ayr Neptune GC and a previous treasurers position at Swindon GC.

The full list of Ayrshire Golf Association officials for 2011 - 2012 is :-

PRESIDENT - David J. Miller (Kilmarnock Barassie)
VICE PRESIDENT - Milton Murray (Largs)
PAST PRESIDENT - Alasdair J. Malcolm (Prestwick St Nicholas)
HONORARY LIFE PRESIDENT - Matt Lygate (Troon Portland)
HONORARY LIFE PRESIDENT - R. Leslie Crawford (Kilmarnock Barassie)
SECRETARY / TREASURER - Alasdair J Malcolm (Prestwick St Nicholas)

James McMurdo (Ballochmyle)
David McKie (Ballochmyle)
John Nordbo (Largs)
Robert Wilson (Ballochmyle)
Cliff Francis (Troon Welbeck)
Ricky Magee (Caprington)
Iain Harvey (Kilmarnock Barassie)
Allan Muir (Caprington)
Ronnie Potts (Irvine Ravenspark)
John Rushbury (Rowallan Castle)
John Duncan (Troon Portland)
Mike Hazlewood (Ayr Neptune)
Dougie Dempster (Ayrshire Junior Golf League)

No comments: