Sunday, October 16, 2016

CHAMPIONS AGAIN - Ayrshire retain West Of Scotland Area title

Ayrshire retained the West Of Scotland Area Championship title in a winner take all showdown with Dumbartonshire in the final match of the five week series on Sunday 16th October at Cardross GC.

Having won all their previous matches, with the exception of a narrow defeat away to Stirlingshire, Ayrshire went into the final match of the series away to Dumbartonshire knowing that a win would see them overtake their hosts and league leaders.

Jim Johnston (Ayr Belleisle) lost out in the lead match by 2 & 1 and John Shanks (Irvine) also suffered a defeat by the same score in the third tie, but Malcolm Pennycott (Whiting Bay) kept Ayrshire well place in the match with a 2 & 1 win in his tie.

With Tommy McInally (Loudoun) and Steven Wallace (Prestwick St Cuthbert) both winning comfortable, Ayrshire led 3 - 2 with three ties still on the course, though through fourteen holes the match could still have gone either way with the ties involving Stuart Robin (Prestwick St Cuthbert) and Charlie Macneal (Prestwick) all square whilst Greg Telfer (Prestwick St Cuthbert), in his senior team debut was one down at the same stage.

Stuart Robin began a flourishing finish for Ayrshire, closing out his tie on the final green to give Ayrshire a crucial 4 - 2 lead, before both Greg Telfer then Charlie Macneal won three successive holes to close out their ties by 2 & 1 and 3 & 1 respectively and give Ayrshire a 6 - 2 win in the match and a second successive West Inter County title.

Match details (Dumbartonshire names first):-

Steven Stewart (Clydebank & District) beat Jim Johnston (Ayr Belleisle) by 2 & 1
David Lindsay (Lenzie) lost to Malcolm Pennycott (Whiting Bay) by 2 7 1
Chris Tursby (Clydebank & District) beat John Shanks (Irvine) by 2 & 1
Craig Bisset (Dumbarton) lost to Stuart Robin (Prestwick St Cuthbert)  by 2 holes
Richard Law (Lenzie) lost to Tommy McInally (Loudoun) by 5 & 4
Andy Campbell (Dumbarton) lost to Greg Telfer (Prestwick St Cuthbert) by 2 & 1
Richard Bridges (Dumbarton) lost to Steven Wallace (Prestwick St Cuthbert) by 6 & 5
John McMahon (Cardross) lost to Charlie Macneal (Prestwick) by 3 & 1


In the corresponding youths match, also played on Sunday 16th October, at Troon Darley, Ayrshire faced a Dumbartonshire side who had secured four wins from four in their previous matches in the competition this year.

In the lead tie, Craig Telfer (Prestwick St Cuthbert) had a 4 & 2 win  whilst sandy Walker (Kilmarnock Barassie) went one better with a 4 & 3 win in the third tie.

In the second tie, Jack Thomas (Irvine) was defeated on the final green, one of three Ayrshire players to suffer that fate during the match.

Louis Murray (Troon Welbeck) matched sandy Walker's winning margin of 4 & 3, and although Allan Watson (Ballochmyle) lost by the same score, a 7 & 5 win by Darryl Lynch (Ayr Belleisle) in the anchor tie gave Ayrshire a 4 - 2 lead with two matches remaining on the course.

Unfortunately for the home side both Robbie Fitzpatrick (Irvine) and Ally Berry (Irvine Ravenspark) lost out on the final green and the match was drawn 4 - 4.

The result saw Dumbartonshire crowned Youth league champions for 2016 and although the Ayrshire team finished in mid table, they could take plaudits from their performance in their final match, as the only team to take anything from Dumbartonshire during the five match series this year.

Match details (Ayrshire names first):-

Craig Telfer (Prestwick St Cuthbert) beat Rhys Thomson (Palacerigg) by 4 & 2
Jack Thomas (Irvine) lost to Euan McBride (Lenzie) by 2 holes
Sandy Walker (Kilmarnock Barassie) beat Stuart Boyd (Hayston) by 4 & 3
Louis Murray (Troon Welbeck) beat Danile Finnegan (Dumbarton) by 4 & 3
Robbie Fitzpatrick (Irvine) lost to Ian Taggart (Lenzie) by 1 hole
Ally Berry (Irvine Ravenspark) lost to Daniel Muir (Hayston) by 1 hole
Allan Watson (Ballochyle) lost to Neil Stewart (Clober) by 4 & 3
Darryl Lynch (Ayr Belleisle) beat Greg Fitzsimmons (Hilton Park) by 7 & 5


No comments: