Friday, November 08, 2013

AYRSHIRE JUNIOR GOLF LEAGUE DINNER - capacity audience see Easton and Jaffrey take Player Of The Year awards

A capacity audience attended the 45th annual Ayrshire Junior Golf League dinner and  presentation of prizes, at Irvine Golf Club, on Monday 4th November 2013.

Junior Golfers Of The Year - Stuart Easton & Connie Jaffrey

With top table guests including SGU Past President Maurice Shields, Ayrshire Ladies County Golf Association Honorary President Nancy Chisholm and Ayrshire Golf Association President Milton Murray, the unique event was chaired by AJGL Chairman Bob Cameron of Ayr Belleisle GC.

After an excellent meal and entertaining raffle which raised a good total towards AJGL funds, the winners of the seasons titles were honoured by the assembled company.

Matt Lygate Trophy - Kilmarnock (Barassie)
The presentation of prizes, hosted by AJGL Assistant Secretary Billy Tait, began in the traditional manner with David Reynolds of the charity Fields In Trust, formerly The National Playing Fields Association, presenting the Macrobert Thistle Junior Golfer Of The Year Trophy.

Whilst the boys award was first given 25 years ago, 2013 marked the first award for girls in Ayrshire, with a new trophy of the same design as the boys trophy being presented for the first time.

A D Nimmo Trophy - Ballochmyle
Opening with the girls award, David Reynolds paid tribute to the 2013 recipient, Connie Jaffrey (Troon ladies) and her achievements during the year  which included winning the Scottish Girls Championship and the Scottish Girls Order Of Merit as well as being selected to play in the home international at both girls and full international levels.

The winner of the boys award for 2013 was announced as Stuart Easton (Irvine GC) who listed the West Of Scotland Boys Matchplay Championship and selection for the Boys Home Internationals amongst his achievements during the season.

Other recipients of awards during the evening included :-

Prestwick Circuits Trophy
Callum Gorrie
Matt Lygate Trophy (Ayrshire Boys Team Champions) - KILMARNOCK (BARASSIE) GC

Andrew D Nimmo Trophy (Handicap Team Champions) - BALLOCHMYLE GC

Prestwick Circuits Trophy - CALLUM GORRIE (Kilmarnock Barassie GC)

Carrick Trophy - ROBERT CLARK (Ballochmyle)

Carrick Trophy
Robet Clark
Silver Jubilee Trophy - AYRSHIRE GOLF ASSOCIATION (James McMurdo & Milton Murray)

Ayrshire Boys Championship - LOUIS MURRAY (Troon Welbeck)

Ayrshire Boys Matchplay Championship - LOUIS MURRAY (Troon Welbeck)

Junior Order Of Merit - Connor McKay

Ayrshire Junior Order Of Merit
3rd - MURRAY McCRONE (Troon Welbeck)
2nd - SEAN COOK (Kilmarnock Barassie)
Winner - CONNOR McKAY (Loudoun)

Wallace Thornton Trophy - Kilmarnock Barassie

Wallace Thornton Trophy
Runners |Up - IRVINE GC

Under 16 Knockout Trophy - Loudoun
Under 16 Knockout Trophy
Winners - LOUDOUN GC

Champion Of Champions
Murray McCrone

The penultimate trophy awarded was the Champion Of Champions Trophy.

The 2013 runner up was AIDAN DORE (Loudoun), whilst MURRAY McCRONE (Troon Welbeck) created history in 2013 by becoming the youngest ever winner of the trophy in its 34 year history.

The final trophy presented was the Ayrshire Junior Golf league Championship award. The 2013 runners up were WEST KILBRIDE GC whilst the winners this year, TROON WELBECK GC took the title for only the third time, ending a 29 year wait since their last success in the competition.

League Champions - Troon Welbeck

At the conclusion of a very enjoyable evening, AJGL Secretary John Nordbo proposed a vote of thanks to all those who had contributed to the success of the event.

No comments: