Thursday, September 29, 2011

OPEN CHAMPIONSHIP FOUNDER HONOURED - Fairlie commemorated at his former Symington home

Coodham House
The recent presentation of a commemorative plaque, to be erected at the newly refurbished Coodham House near Symington, was recorded by local television channel URTV Ayrshire.

The plaque will commemmorate the former owner of Coodham Estate, James Ogilvie Fairlie, who was instrumental in the formation of Prestwick Golf Club in 1851.

Fairlie persuaded his preferred caddie and frequent golfing partner, the legendary Tom Morris, to come over from St Andrews with his wife and family and lay out the original 12 hole course at Prestwick, which was the first in a distinguished list of courses he designed.

James Ogilvie Fairlie
Morris stayed in Prestwick for 14 years and during this time his mentor, Fairlie, was instrumental in instituting the competition which would develop into the greatest of all golf championships, The Open Championship, which was first played over the 12 hole course at Prestwick on 17th October 1860.

Coodham house lies at the edge of Symington village in South Ayrshire, set within a 90 acre Estate.

The A-listed exterior of Coodham House has now been restored to its former glory, whilst the interior has been entirely re-constructed to form six luxury apartments and three unique designer houses.

Coodham House is a golfers dream, located a short drive away from the a host of  famous West Of Scotland golf courses, including the Open Championship venues of Prestwick, Royal Troon and Turnberry.

To view the short clip on the presentation of the plaque, click on the link below.

No comments: