Wednesday, November 10, 2004

AYRSHIRE JUNIOR GOLF LEAGUE - R & A Captain joins a full house at the Annual Dinner

For the first time in the 36 year history of the Ayrshire Junior Golf League, the members welcomed the Captain of The Royal And Ancient Golf Club Of St. Andrews as a guest at their Annual Dinner and Presentation Of Trophies, which was held at Irvine Ravenspark Golf Club on Monday 8th November.

Richard Cole-Hamilton, the recently appointed Captain of the R & A headed a guest list which included Scottish Golf Union President Hugh Hunter, Ayrshire Golf Association President Ian Guthrie, David Reynolds of the National Playing Fields Association, Club Captains Eugene O'Donoghue of Prestwick and Milton Murray of Irvine Ravenspark, Past Captain John McK. Gibson of Prestwick St. Cuthbert, Vice Captain Andrew Gray of Kilmarnock Barassie, coaching professionals Graham Ross (West Kilbride) and Richard Gordon (Ayr Belleisle) and all 8 surviving Honorary Members of The League, Sam Coulter (Maybole), Bill Tinsley (Ardeer), Charlie McGregor (Irvine Ravenspark), Alastair Graham and Alasdair Malcolm (both Prestwick St. Cuthbert) and Bob Grassom, Iain Harvey and Russell Cameron (all Ayr Belleisle).

Also present were Andy Clift (Wilsons Sports) and Ian Walker (Ping) who generously sponsored the prizes for the Order Of Merit event which ran throughout the season.

Gordon Cunningham (Largs G.C.), the League Chairman hosted the evening, which attracted a capacity audience of over 100 young golfers, junior convenors and club officials.

After an excellent meal and a lengthy raffle, which attracted a large number of prizes and good support from those who attended the dinner, the evening concluded with the presentation of the trophies and awars for the season.

As has been the tradition since 1990, the presentations began with David Reynolds of The National Playing Fields Association presenting the Macrobert Thistle Junior Golfer Of The Year Trophy. This years winner, who follows a long line of "weel kent" names in Ayrshire golf, was Steven McEwan of Kilmarnock Barassie. Given the award as much for his attitude and demeanour on and off the course, as well as his performance locally and nationally, Steven had an excellent golfing year which included a number of open competition wins, success in A.J.G.L. events and representative honours at county levels. His season culminated in his selection to represent Scotland at boys level in the Boys Home Internationals.

Before presenting the remaining prizes, R & A Captain, Mr. Cole-Hamilton addressed the company, relating some stories from his boyhood golf where he began playing at the Ravenspark course before joining Irvine Bogside where the great Hammy McInally made an early impression on the young Cole-Hamilton with his kindness and willingness to pass on some tips to the next generation.

Mr. Cole-Hamilton then presented the awards to the principal prizewinners for the season, who were:

Macrobert Thistle Junior Golfer Of The Year - STEVEN McEWAN
Matt Lygate Trophy - KILMARNOCK (BARASSIE) G.C.
Andrew D. Nimmo Trophy - ARDEER G.C.
Prestwick Circuits Trophy - STEVEN McEWAN (Kil. Barassie)
Carrick Trophy - FERGUS CUNNINGHAM (Ardeer)
Silver Jubilee Trophy - AYRSHIRE GOLF ASSOC.
Ayrshire Boys Championship - IAIN MENZIES (Largs)
Ayrshire Boys Matchplay Champion - JAMIE MURCHIE (Lamlash)
Junior Order Of Merit - 5th equal - SANDY WILSON (West Kilbride)
Junior Order Of Merit - 5th equal - IAIN MENZIES (Largs)
Junior Order Of Merit - 5th equal - NICKY SINCLAIR (Kil. Barassie)
Junior Order Of Merit - 4th - STUART ROBIN (Prestwick St. Nicholas)
Junior Order Of Merit - 3rd - MICHAEL STEWART (Troon Welbeck)
Junior Order Of Merit - 2nd - ROBERT HUTTON (Brunston Castle)
Junior Order Of Merit Trophy - STEVEN McEWAN (Kil. Barassie)
Wallace Thornton Trophy - KILMARNOCK (BARASSIE) G.C.
Under 16 Knockout Trophy - WEST KILBRIDE G.C.
Champion of Champions Runner Up - JAMIE MACKAY (St. Meddans)
Champion Of Champions Trophy - CAMERON GRAY (West Kilbride)
AJGL Championship - Semi Finalist - BEITH G.C.
AJGL Championship - Semi Finalist - LARGS ROUTENBURN G.C.
AJGL Championship - Runners Up - KILMARNOCK (BARASSIE) G.C.
AJGL Championship - League Champions - ARDEER G.C.

The 36th Annual Dinner concluded with a vote of thanks, proposed by A.J.G.L. Vice Chairman Douglas Aitken (Caprington).

No comments: