Wednesday, August 18, 2010

ST ANDREWS TROPHY - Michael Stewart called up to GB & I side


The Great Britain and Ireland team to face the Continent of Europe in the 2010 St Andrews Trophy Match has been confirmed, with Michael Stewart (Troon Welbeck) one of three Scots named in the team.

“We have selected a very strong team for the match,” said GB&I Captain Nigel Edwards. “I’m pleased that we have a balanced team made up of players who all have undoubted talent and proven track-records in match play competition.

“We go to Italy knowing that we will face a tough Continent of Europe side, but we look forward to the challenge and expect to perform well.”

The nine players who will contest the match at Castelconturbia near Milan, Italy, are as follows:

James Byrne, Banchory: Byrne, who studies at Arizona State University, reached the final of the Amateur Championship at Muirfield in June and, more recently, finished 11th at the European Amateur Championship in Finland. He also represented Europe at the Palmer Cup in June at Royal Portrush.

Laurie Canter, Saltford: The reigning South African Amateur Champion has enjoyed an excellent season, winning a number of titles including the Hampshire Hog and the West of England Amateur. A strong match play competitor, he won five and a half points out of a possible six at last week’s Home Internationals.

Paul Cutler, Portstewart: 2010 Lytham Trophy Champion Cutler reached the quarter-final stage of the Amateur Championship. Cutler represented Ireland at the Home Internationals, earning two points from a possible three from his singles matches.

Ross Kellett, Colville Park: 2009 European Amateur Championship runner-up Kellett won the Tennant Cup at Glasgow – Gailes Links and Killermont in June. Earlier in the year he finished in fifth place at the Portuguese Amateur and, recently, he represented Scotland at the Home Internationals.

Tom Lewis, Welwyn Garden City: The 2009 Boys Amateur Champion won the Berkhamsted Trophy this year, as well as finishing runner-up in the Welsh Open Stroke Play. In 2010 he has formed part of winning England teams at the European Team Championship, the Home Internationals and the European Nations Cup.

Matthew Nixon, Ashton-under-Lyne: Another member of the winning English team at the Home Internationals, Nixon has been remarkably consistent this year, producing a string of good results including a third-place finish at the Lytham Trophy and a fourth-place at the Scottish Amateur Stroke Play Championship. He also reached the semi-finals of the 2010 Amateur Championship.

Eddie Pepperell, Drayton Park: 2009 Boys Amateur Championship runner-up Pepperell has enjoyed a successful season with wins coming at the Welsh Open Stroke Play and the Berkshire Trophy. He was also part of the English team at the European Team Championship and the Home Internationals.

Michael Stewart, Troon Welbeck: Winner of the 2010 Scottish Amateur Championship, former Scottish Boys Champion Stewart earned five and a half points from a possible six for Scotland at the Home Internationals.

Darren Wright, Rowlands Castle: The 2009 West of England Amateur Champion added the Brabazon Trophy to his list of achievements this year, before forming part of the victorious English team at last week’s Home Internationals.

The Continent of Europe team is:

Alexis Godillot (France) – Non-playing Captain

Nino Bertasio (Italy); Jesper Kennegard (Sweden); Max Kieffer (Germany); Espen Kofstad (Norway); Johann Lopez-Lazaro (France); Morten Orum Madsen (Denmark); Kalle Samooja (Finland); Romain Wattel (France); Pontus Widegren (Sweden).

The 2010 St Andrews Trophy will be held at Castelconturbia, Italy, on August 27-28. Four foursomes ties will be played each morning, with eight singles matches being played on Friday and Saturday afternoon.

The St Andrews Trophy Match is played every two years between Great Britain and Ireland, and the Continent of Europe. It was first played in 1956 over the West Course at Wentworth. Great Britain and Ireland have won the last five matches, including at Kingsbarns in 2008. The most recent Continent of Europe victory came at Golf Villa D’Este in 1998. The GB and I team is selected by The R and A and the Continent of Europe side by the European Golf Association

No comments: