Monday, September 15, 2014

SCOTTISH CLUB CHAMPIONSHIP - Prestwick finish joint third at Lundin

Prestwick Golf Club finished joint third in the Scottish Club Championship at Lundin Links on Sunday 14 September 2014, as Glenbervie retained the title this year.

(Report from the SGU website)

Glenbervie held off the challenge of Blairgowrie, including a hole in one from Glenn Campbell, to retain the TSG Scottish Club Championship crown at Lundin today.

Graham Robertson, this year’s Fairstone Scottish Amateur Championship runner-up, Fraser Moore and Richard Johnston retained the title over the Fife links, thanks to a two-under-par winning total, achieved in windier conditions in the afternoon.

Glenbervie now go forward to the European Club final in Bulgaria from October 23 to 25 at Pravets GC.

Over two rounds of stroke play, with the two lowest scores from each round counting towards each team’s aggregate score, winning GB and I St Andrews Trophy team member Robertson was the hero with rounds of 67 and 71.

Moore added rounds of 73 and 71 to see the Stirlingshire side home, finishing the only team under par for a two-stroke win over Blairgowrie.

Moore has now tasted back-to-back triumphs, after he was a member of the winning team at Luffness New 12 months ago, joining Colin Mundie and Mark Hislop to secure a one-shot win over Craigie Hill and Southerness.

Glenbervie had it far from their own way, though, after former Scottish Amateur champion Campbell opened with a 66 including a superb ace at the 141-yard 5th hole. Campbell, however, took eight strokes more in round two, as the Perthshire side, the 2012 champions, settled for the runners-up spot.

Prestwick and Longniddry shared a distant third place on eight over par, with Ralston fifth on nine over.

Each of the 16 Area Associations of the Scottish Golf Union held a qualifying process to determine their leading club, with 48 players lining up at Lundin to contest the title.


282 Glenbervie
284 Blairgowrie
292 Prestwick, Longniddry
293 Ralston
295 Inverness, Portlethen
300 Powfoot, Old Ranfurly
301 Alloa
302 Hamilton, Edzell
305 Leven GS
311 Glencruitten
312 Torwoodlee
334 Windyhill


No comments: