Monday, July 05, 2010

AYRSHIRE CLUB CHAMPIONSHIP - Haggarty leads Loudoun to title at Prestwick

Loudoun Gowf Club stormed to victory by five clear shots in the 2010 Ayrshire Club Championship at a windy Prestwick Golf Club on Sunday 4th July.

With a record field of 21 clubs competing for the R.L. Crawford Trophy and the title of Club Champions, with two scratch scores from three counting towards the team score, the early pace was set by Prestwick St. Cuthbert with Steven McBlain (76), Kevin Fergusson (78 & Graeme Gimson (84) combining for a 154 total.

The St Cuthbert total was matched by Troon Welbeck, Bert Ferguson (77), Stephen Murray (77) and Del Chamberlain (85) being edged off the lead by virtue of the third score.

Prestwick GC, the title holders who went on to win the national title in 2009, put up a stout defence, Jonathan King (77), James Bunch (78) & Gavin Lawrie (81) combining for 155 to be one shot off the pace.

Prestwick's score of 155 was matched by Irvine (Alan Connery 78, Alex Gourlay 77 & Stephen Spence 81), Turnberry (Scott Brown 74, Alan Conner 81 & Dominic Booth 85) and Prestwick St. Nicholas (Kevin Brock 77, Alastair belford 78, Gary Tierney N/R).

As the final matches concluded it was Loudoun who became the sole challengers for the title with John Haggarty leading  the Loudoun team by example.

Starting at the tenth tee, Haggarty opened with a quadriple bogey eight on the long par four hole but rallied superbly to get back to level par after nine holes. Haggarty maintained his form in the most testing of conditions over the remaining holes, with only a bogey five at the ninth, his final hole of the round, denying him a level par return. Nevertheless, Haggarty's one over par 72 was the best score opf the day by two shots and gave his team a fine platform to build on. An 80 by Scott Gilchrist ensured that Loudoun would take the lead in the competition and with a 77, Chris Bone ensured that Loudoun would take the Ayrshire Club Championship for the first time with a full five shot winning margin.

The CSS for the competition was, not surprisingly, 76 (+3) reduction only.

Loudoun will now go forward to represent Ayrshire in the Scottish Club Championship finals at Fortrose & Rosemarkie on Sunday 26th September 2010, and will bid to return the national title to Ayrshire after the Prestwick GC success in the event last year.


149 - Loudoun Gowf Club (J Haggerty 72, C Bone 77, S Gilchrist 80)
154 - Prestwick St. Cuthbert (G Gimson 84, K Fergusson 78, S McBlain 76), Troon Welbeck R Ferguson 77, D Chamberlain 85, S Murray 77)
155 - Prestwick (G Lawrie 81, J King 77, J Bunch 78), Irvine (A Connery 78, S Spence 81, A Gourlay 77), Turnberry (S Brown 74, A Connor 81, D Booth 85), Prestwick St. Nicholas (K Brock 77, A Belford 78, G Tierney N/R)
156 - Kilmarnock (Barassie) (E Brown 76, C Sharp 80, S Miller 87)
159 - Irvine Ravenspark (G Robertson 78, D Mallinson 81, G Cochran 85)
162 - Largs (I McDonald 81, G Dickson 86, C McLaughlin 81), Ayr Dalmilling (G Boyle 80, J. McCormack 87, R Wyper 82)
163 - Doon Valley (K. Russell 81, J Graham 82, S Peters 84), West Kilbride (P Gossman 80, J Duff 83, S Wilson 86), Annanhill (M Tait N/R, A Fraser 84, G McTaggart 79)
166 - Beith (L Jenkins 82, R Marshall 84, G McCrea N/R)
168 - Brunston Castle (W. McCulloch 81, S Capstick 89, F Murdoch 87)
169 - Ballochmyle (C Hamilton N/R, G Rowan 80, W Fleming 89)
170 - Tam O Shanter (N Tindall 89, J Sloan 81, J Gillon 96)
171 - Ayr Belleisle (K Ottley 88, L Hughes 83, C Porciani 88), New Cumnock (N McCormack N/R, T Keddie 83, M Ridall 88)
174 - Troon St. Meddans (M Stewart N/R, I Fraser 85, K Milliken 89

No comments: