Tuesday, August 01, 2017

SCOTTISH AMATEUR CHAMPIONSHIP - 13 Ayrshire players qualify for matchplay rounds

Thirteen of the forty four Ayrshire players who started in the Scottish Amateur Championship on Monday morning have made it into the matchplay stages after the two qualifying rounds, played at Prestwick and Prestwick St Cuthbert on Monday 31st July and Tuesday 1st August, were completed.

The cut fell at 149, 7 over par, after two days of testing conditions at the two Prestwick venues.

The matchplay rounds continue throughout Wednesday, Thursday and Friday with the 36 hole final scheduled to take place on Saturday. All remaining play will be over the Prestwick links.

The qualifiers, their scores and the scores of all the other Ayrshire players are:-

Euan WalkerKilmarnock Barassie7070140
Johnathan KingGlasgow/Prestwick7070140
Jim Johnston Ayr Belleisle7170141
Stuart Easton Irvine7370143
Michael SmythRoyal Troon7668144
Sandy BuchananPrestwick St Nicholas7372145
Bruce CaldowKilmarnock Barassie7670146
Craig TelferPrestwick St Cuthbert7276148
Greg TelferPrestwick St Cuthbert7672148
Alyx MurrayTroon Welbeck8168149
John HaggartyLoudoun7871149
Gavin LawriePrestwick7475149
Scott BrownPrestwick St Cuthbert7871149
Jack BrounAyr Belleisle7476150
George RobertsonIrvine7080150
Colin BerryLoudoun7874152
James Bunch Prestwick8072152
Robbie MuirKilmarnock Barassie7479153
Steven WallacePrestwick St Cuthbert7776153
Shaun HedgerWest Kilbride8272154
Mark RobertsonWestern Gailes8173154
Andrew Wright Royal Troon8074154
Freddie WardPrestwick7579154
Ewan Milligan Kilmarnock Barassie8174155
Scott CairnsPrestwick St Cuthbert8174155
Andy BrownWest Kilbride8175156
Ben GibsonTroon Welbeck7977156
Adrian Orton Kilmarnock Barassie7780157
Sandy Walker Kilmarnock Barassie8473157
Iain Fraser Troon Portland7980159
Stuart Robin Prestwick St Cuthbert8277159
John Rushbury Royal Troon7684160
Stephen SpenceRoyal Troon8278160
Stuart Miller Kilmarnock Barassie8476160
Gordon McKelvieRoyal Troon8674160
David LongairPrestwick St Cuthbert8875163
Mark GallagherRowallan Castle8281163
Jordan SweeneyAyr Belleisle8182163
Robbie FulkerKilmarnock Barassie8876164
Johnathan StevensonTroon Welbeck8084164
David WilsonTroon Welbeck8185166
Cameron McLeanTroon Welbeck9278170
Pieter SloovesPrestwick St Cuthbert9585180
Grant WilsonRowallan CastleRtd86Rtd
Malcolm PennycottRoyal Burgess / Whiting BayRtdRtdRtd

Six of the Ayrshire qualifiers made it into the matchplay stages right on the cut figure of 149 and as a result they will be involved in first round matches on Wednesday morning.

Greg Telfer (Prestwick St Cuthbert) plays James Rogers (Rockliffe Hall GC), John Haggarty (Loudoun) takes on Mark Napier (Turnhouse GC) whilst Scott Brown (Prestwick St Cuthbert) faces Andrew Thomson (Lanark).

Alyx Murray (Troon Welbeck) will be up against Michael Brodie (Alyth), Craig Telfer (Prestwick St Cuthbert) plays Derek Anderson (Lochwinnoch) and Gavin Lawrie (Prestwick) meets Paul Gault (Haggs Castle).

The first round matchplay ties play off from  8.a.m. on Wednesday and the second round of matchplay begins from 10.24 that day.

In the second round, Michael Smyth  (Royal Troon) faces Blyth Nicklas (Golf Club St Leon Rot, Germany). 

Sandy Buchanan (Prestwick St Nicholas) plays off with Matt Clark (Kilmacolm) whilstt Euan Walker  (Kilmarnock Barassie) plays Alasdair Macdougall (Elderslie).

Stuart Easton (Irvine) plays L. Breslin (Fereneze) and Jonathan King (Glasgow / Prestwick) awaits the winners of the morning ties.

There is an all Ayrshire second round match when Jim Johnston (Ayr Belleisle) plays Bruce Caldow (Kilmarnock Barassie).

No comments: