Tuesday, September 21, 2010

AYRSHIRE JUNIOR GOLF LEAGUE - Troon Welbeck retain Wallace Thornton Trophy

Ayrshire Boys Team Champions Troon Welbeck  retained the Wallace Thornton Trophy on Sunday 19th September when the first of the 2010 Ayrshire Junior Golf League finals were played at Largs.

In the final, the Troon Welbeck side beat local rivals Kilmarnock (Barassie) by 3 & 1 to lift the trophy for the second successive year.

 The winning team - David Wilson, Marc Smith, Rory McKenzie, Charlie Macneal 

In the first tie, Ayrshire Boys Champion Charlie Macneal led by one hole for Welbeck through 6 against Scotland boys internationalist Jack McDonald, but by the ninth Jack had edged in front and held on to a narrow lead in a closely fought game.

The second and third ties were both all square at the turn but Marc Smith opened up a 2 hole lead over Euan Walker by the 12th and closed his game out on the 16th whilst Rory McKenzie took a one hole lead over Callum Gorrie by the 12th and took command by winning the next three holes for a convincing win.

In the final tie, David wilson raced to an early lead, winning the first 4 holes against Colin Currie. Wilson extended his lead to to 6 by the 9th and finished the game at the 12th.

Marc Smith in his final Junior Team game for Welbeck accepted the the Wallace Thornton for the second consecutive year from Ayrshire Junior Golf League Chairman John Nordbo (Largs) at the conclusion of the final, watched by a sizeable contingent of parents and supporters from both teams.

Match Results (Troon Welbeck names first) :-

Charlie MacNeal lost to Jack Mcdonald by 1 hole.
Marc Smith beat Euan Walker by 3&1
Rory McKenzie beat Callum Gorrie by 4&3
David Wilson beat Colin Currie by 7&6

The finalists

No comments: