Wednesday, July 19, 2023

AYRSHIRE SENIOR MEN'S STROKEPLAY CHAMPIONSHIP - James Mcintyre (Redburn) wins the Sandy Provan trophy at Ayr Seafield

James McIntyre (Redburn) came out on top in the 2023 Ayrshire Senior men's Strokeplay Championship at Ayr Seafield on Tuesday the 18th of July, winning the sandy Provan Trophy for the best nett score returned on the day.

A scratch score of 67, off his handicap of four, gave McIntyre a nett score of 63 which was matched later in the day by both William Fleming (Loudoun) and Bobby Clark (Ballochmyle), but it was McIntyre who took the title by virtue of the better inward half over the other two players.

The best scratch score of the day was returned by scratch golfer Brian Fisher (Largs) with a 65.

A nett 65 gave Steven Capstick (Ballochmyle) first place in the 50 - 59 age category, whilst the two 63's by Fleming and Clark gave them first and second spots in the 60 - 69 age group.

The  70+ age category was won by Ayrshire Golf Association past president John W Watt (Prestwick St Cuthbert, with a nett 65 off his 24 handicap.

The nearest the hole prizes, at the third and fifteenth, were won by Stephen Arrandale (Prestwick St Cuthbert) and Iain McFarlane (Kilmarnock Barassie).

President Scott Gilchrist, with the trophy, and Vice President Andrew Gilchrist
along with some of the competitors.

The full list of prizewinners were:-

The full list of scores returned by entrants were:-

No comments: