Thursday, October 23, 2014

AYRSHIRE GOLF ASSOCIATION AGM - James McMurdo elected new Association President

James McMurdo
James McMurdo (Ballochmyle) was elected as the new Ayrshire Golf Association President at the Annual General Meeting of The Association which was held at Caprington Golf Club on Tuesday 21 October, taking over from Milton Murray (Irvine) who stood down after his two year tenure.

A member of Ballochmyle since he was a junior golfer, President McMurdo is self employed and plays of a handicap of 3. He has been a member of the AGA Executive since 2006 and has been involved in a number of aspects of the work of the Association in his time on The Executive, including coaching and tournaments, as well as having gained an SGU rules qualification.

In accepting the position, James McMurdo considered it an honour, both personally and for his club, He also paid tribute to the good work that Past President Milton Murray did during his two years in office, and presented him with his Past Presidents badge.

Seventeen member clubs were represented at the meeting where approval was given to the previously circulated Presidents Report, Financial Report, Coaching Report, Course Rating Report, Ayrshire Junior Golf League Report and Scottish Golf Union Report.

Vice President
John Rushbury
John Rushbury (Rowallan Castle) was elected as Vice President at the meeting, for the next two years. A 4 handicap golfer, Vice President Rushbury is self employed and has been on The Executive since 2011. In his time with The Association he has gained an SGU rules qualification as well as being involved in a number of aspects of the work of The Association, including assisting with teams and tournaments and leading on the coaching scheme over the last year.

Secretary / Treasurer
Alasdair J Malcolm

Alasdair J Malcolm (Prestwick St Cuthbert) was re elected as Secretary / Treasurer for the forthcoming year, having held the post since 2009.

Two valued executive members stood down at the AGM after a number of years of involvement with The Association. Past President David Miller (Kilmarnock Barassie) and John Duncan (Troon Portland) were thanked for their efforts on behalf of The Association.

John Watt
Three serving executive members, Allan Muir (Caprington), Ronnie Potts (Irvine Ravenspark) and Mike Hazlewood (Ayr Neptune),  were re elected for a further three year period.

Also elected to The Executive were new members. John Watt (Prestwick St Cuthbert) and Willie McCormack (Ayr Seafield), who will serve for a three year period.

Ian Hoynes


Ian Hoynes (West Kilbride) was also elected to The Executive for the first time, filling a vacancy for a two year initial period.

Ronnie Potts (Irvine Ravenspark) was re elected as Area Representitive to the SGU.

Ronnie Potts
Representatives of member clubs present were advised by The Secretary that the Scottish Golf Union per capita subscription will increase from £10.60 to £11.00 this year, and a proposed rise in the Ayrshire Golf Association per capita subscription from £2.20 to £2.30 was also approved at the meeting.

There being no other business or matters raised, President McMurdo closed the meeting at 7.45 p.m.

The 2014 - 2015 Ayrshire Golf Association Executive
Standing (L - R) :- Iain Harvey, Ian Hoynes, John Watt, Scott Gilchrist, Ricky Magee,
Hugh McKenzie, Mike Hazlewood, Allan Muir, Robert Wilson.
Seated (L - R) :- SGU Representative Ronnie Potts, Vice President John Rushbury, President James McMurdo,
Past President Milton Murray, Secretary/Treasurer Alasdair J Malcolm
(Not present - Cliff Francis & Willie McCormack)

No comments: