Sunday, September 18, 2005

AYRSHIRE JUNIOR GOLF LEAGUE - West Kilbride secure first championship win and end Ardeer's treble hopes

West Kilbride are the 2005 Ayrshire Junior Golf League Champions, their first championship win since joining The League in 1988, after they defeated defending champions, Ardeer by 4 - 2 in the final at Caprington on Sunday 18th September.

Ardeer, bidding for a third successive title win, were giving strokes to their opponents in all 6 ties.

After 6 holes, honours were even, with West Kilbride winning in two ties, losing in two and the other two being all square, but after 12 holes the momentum had swung towards West Kilbride, with substantial leads in ties 3, 4 and 5, although Ardeer held equally substantial leads in the opening two ties.

In the lead tie, Darren Kean of West Kilbride faced a tough task against Ardeer's Club Champion, John Shanks, who secured the firs point of the day for Ardeer with a 6 & 5 win. Ardeer were soon 2 - 0 up when Scott Ainsworth beat Michael Roos 4 & 3, but the news was not so good for the holders in the next three ties, Martin Dunning going down 5 & 4 to Grant Weir in the third tie and Callum Ainsworth being beaten by Ross De Courcy in tie number four to make the match score 2 - 2, before Kieran Howie beat Greg Kean by 5 & 4 to give West Kilbride a 3 - 2 lead in the match. With the remaining tie on the course being all square after 14,

Howie's win in tie number five effectively gave West Kilbride the title, with Ardeer being unable to match West Kilbride's countback score, even if they won the final tie, for a 3 - 3 draw.

West Kilbride were keen to secure a clear victory, and Cameron McLean battled on against David McDonald to win his tie by 1 hole and give West Kilbride a 4 - 2 championship victory.

Prizes were presented to both teams at the conclusion of the final, by Ayrshire Junior Golf League Chairman, Ricky Magee (Caprington)

MATCH DETAILS (West Kilbride names first)

Darren Kean (5) lost to John Shanks (2) by 6 & 5
Michael Roos (6) lost to Scott Ainsworth (5) by 4 & 3
Grant Weir (12) beat Martin Dunning (8) by 5 & 4
Ross De Courcy (12) beat Callum Ainsworth (10) by 6 & 5
Kieran Howie (12) beat Greg Kean (13) by 5 & 4
Cameron McLean (18) beat David McDonald (16) by 1 hole


No comments: