Monday, May 22, 2017

AYRSHIRE CHAMPION OF CHAMPIONS - Round two ties completed and Fraser is through to the quarter finals

Iain Fraser (Troon Portland)
through to Quarter Finals
The second round matches in the 2017 Ayrshire Champion Of Champions Trophy were completed recently, whilst Iain Fraser (Troon Portland) secured the first place in the quarter finals.

Michael Smyth (Royal Troon) was a 4&3 home winner over John Anderson (Skelmorlie) and now plays host to Ayrshire Boys Champion Jack Broun (Ayr Belleisle) who beat Ian Smith (Troon Welbeck) by 3 & 1 in their second round clash.

a 4&3 home win over Colin Wark (Ayr Seafield) saw Scott Ireland (Prestwick St Nicholas) through to round three where he will be at home against John Shanks (Irvine) who beat Derek Ballantyne (Ardeer) by 4 & 2 to progress.

David Macdonald (Largs) won 6 & 4 on his visit to play Tom Reid (Stewarton) and now Macdonald is away to Kieran Clark (Ayr Dalmilling) in the third round.

Blair Henderson (Ayr Carrick) had a walkover against David Clydesdale (Glacier) and now hosts Robert Adams (Abbotsford) in the last sixteen.

Sandy Walker (Kilmarnock Barassie) won by 3 & 1 away from home against Steven Arrandale (The Chase) in their second round tie but in his visit to face Ian Fraser (Troon Portland) in the third round, Walker lost by 3 & 2, which saw Fraser into the last eight of the competition.

A 3 & 2 win away from home against Adam Sweeney (Largs Routenburn) saw Steven Stamper (Turnberry) through to round three where he will be at home to Mark Tait (Rowallan Castle).

Title holder John Sloan (Doon Valley) had a 7 & 6 win over Scott Little (Auchenharvie 88) in round two, and is now at home to Gordon Munro (Caprington) who won his second round match at home to Danny Head (Whiting Bay) by 6 & 5

The full third round draw is :-

3rd Round
Played By:- 18th June 2017

Michael Smyth (Royal Troon)
Jack Broun (Ayr Belleisle)

Scott Ireland (Prestwick St Nicholas)
John Shanks (Irvine)

Kieran Clark (Braehead)
David MacDonald (Largs)

Blair Henderson (Ayr Carrick)
Robert Adams (Abbotsford)

James McMurdo (Ballochmyle)
Graeme Gimson (Prestwick St Cuthbert)

Iain Fraser (Troon Portland) 3/2
Sandy Walker (Kilmarnock Barassie)

Steven Stamper (Turnberry)
Mark Tait (Rowallan Castle)

John Sloan (Holder)
Gordon Munro (Caprington)

No comments: