Monday, April 24, 2006

AYRSHIRE STROKEPLAY CHAMPIONSHIP - Steven McEwan secures 2006 County title

Steven McEwan (Kilmarnock Barassie) secured the 2006 Ayrshire Strokeplay Championship, on Sunday 23rd April, over his home course, with a three stroke winning margin over Brian Moore (Largs).

After the morning round, McEwan shared 4th place with Kevin Fergusson (Prestwick St. Cuthbert), their level par returns of 72 only being bettered by John Cairney (Irvine Ravenspark) and two former Ayrshire Boys Champions, Alastair Leggate (Kilmarnock Barassie) and Craig Hamilton (Ballochmyle).

In the afternoon, Brian Moore (Largs) returned a commendable 3 under par 69 to add to his morning 74 for a 36 hole total of 143, but the only player to better his afternoon effort was Scottish Boys Strokeplay champion McEwan, his 4 under par score of 68 giving him a total of 140 and the 2006 title.

Kilmarnock Barassie Vice Captain Bob Pollock presented prizes to the succesful competitors at the conclusion of the event.


140 - S. McEwan (Kilmarnock Barassie) 72-68
143 - B. Moore (Largs) 74-69
145 - B. Crawford (West Kilbride) 74-71
C. Hamilton (Ballochmyle) 71-74
147 - R. Dixon (Kilmarnock Barassie) 75-72
148 - T. McInally (Loudoun) 74-74
K. Fergusson (Prestwick St. Cuthbert) 72-76
J. Cairney (Irvine Ravenspark) 71-77
A. Leggate (Kilmarnock Barassie) 71-77
149 - T. Loy (Ballochmyle) 77-72
T. Fraser (Annanhill) 76-73
150 - G. Robertson (Irvine Ravenspark) 76-74
R. McKnight (Kilmarnock Barassie) 76-74
N. Black (Kilmarnock Barassie) 75-75
C. McLaughlin (Largs) 75-75
151 - A. Connery (Irvine Ravenspark) 77-74
C. McGowan (Troon Welbeck) 77-74
152 - G. Bryden (Girvan) 80-72
A. McLean (Kilbirnie Place) 80-72
I. Walker (Brunston Castle) 76-76
S. Wallace (Prestwick St. Cuthbert) 76-76
153 - G. Gimson (Prestwick St. Cuthbert) 81-72
J. McCormack (Dalmilling) 78-75
A. Dickie (Kilmarnock Barassie) 75-78

The CSS for both rounds remained unchanged at 74

No comments: