Monday, April 17, 2006

AYRSHIRE BOYS TEAM CHAMPIONSHIP - Kilmarnock Barassie create history with third successive win

On Sunday 16th April Kilmarnock (Barassie) became the first club in the 19 year history of the event to win the Matt Lygate Trophy and title of Ayrshire Boys Team Champions for three successive years, when 17 teams contested the 2006 championship at Caprington.

With the best three scores from four counting, the Barassie team of Euan Brown, Jamie Mackay, Kyle Smith and Stuart Henderson returned a scratch team total of 224 to take the premier title by a three shot margin from West Kilbride, represented by Cameron Gray, Fraser Lawrie, Michael Roos and Kieran Howie.

Craig McLaughlin, Andrew Abercrombie, Josh Nordbo and Paul Robinson, with a team total of 236, took third place in the scratch event on behalf of Largs.

In the handicap team event, for the Andrew D. Nimmo Trophy, West Kilbride, with a total of 215 lead the competition from the start, but were overtaken over the final few games by Loudoun, the team of Craig Goodwin, Robert Jamieson, Michael Cameron and Fraser Jardine securing a team total of 205 to win the trophy and title of Handicap Team Champions.
Jardine and Goodwin laid the foundation of the win with net returns of 65 and 69 respectively.
Jmaieson's 74, which was ultimately discarded , ensured that Loudoun would win the trophy, but the team total was improved by Cameron's nett 71, which included a notable eagle 2 at the 261 yard 12th hole.

In the individual competitions, Fraser Jardine of Loudoun took the Carrick Trophy, for the best nett score of the day, by one shot with a 65, whilst Fraser Lawrie of West Kilbride won the Prestwick Circuits Trophy for the best individual scratch return with a 4 over par 72.

Prizewinners in the three handicap sections were Craig Goodwin (Loudoun), Adam Sweeney (Largs Routenburn) and Craig Michael (Annanhill) with nett scores of 69, 72 and 66 respectively.

At the conclusion of the competition, Ayrshire Golf Association Vice President Ricky Magee (Caprington) presented trophies and vouchers to the succesful competitors.

The CSS for the competition was 71 ( + 3 ).

Roll Of Honour

MATT LYGATE TROPHY (Ayrshire Boys Team Champions) - Kilmarnock (Barassie) - 224

2nd Scratch - West Kilbride - 227
3rd Scratch - Largs - 236

ANDREW D. NIMMO TROPHY (Handicap Team Champions) - Loudoun - 205

PRESTWICK CIRCUITS TROPHY (Best individual scratch) - Fraser Lawrie (West Kilbride) - 72

CARRICK TROPHY (Best Individual Nett) - Fraser Jardine (Loudoun) 83-18=65

0-6 Handicap Class - Craig Goodwin (Loudoun) - 75-6=69
7-9 Handicap Class - Adam Sweeney (Largs Routenburn) - 79-7=72
10-18 Handicap Class - Craig Michael (Annanhill) - 84-18=66

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

Those intereted in junior golf around aryshire may be interested in HSBC WEE WONDERS - JUNIOR FLAG COMPETITION
competitons in aryshire