Sunday, October 01, 2017

AYRSHIRE FOURBALL CHAMPIONSHIP - Troon Welbeck win 2017 title

Troon Welbeck are the 2017 Ayrshire Fourball Championship winners, following a close final, played at Loudoun Gowf Club on Friday 29th September.
AGA Vice President John Watt
with the winners Steven Miller & Ian Smith of Troon Welbeck

In the final, the Troon Welbeck pairing of Ian Smith & Steven Miller faced the Ayr Belleisle duo, Andy Brown & John McBean.

Welbeck took the early lead at the second but the match was squared again when Belleisle won the fourth. The Ayr duo then took two further holes by the ninth to turn for home with a two hole lead.

Smith and Miller dug in however and managed to square the match again by the finteenth and completed a great fightback by winning the final two holes for a two hole victory in the match.

The finalists
John McBean & Andy Brown (Ayr Belleisle)
Steven Miller & Ian Smith (Troon Welbeck)
with match referee Ricky Magee
The match was played in the best of spirits and the players gave match referee Ricky Magee no worries throughout.

At the conclusion of the match, Ayrshire Golf Association Vice President John Watt presented prizes to all four finalists before handing the trophy over to the winning pair from Troon Welbeck.

No comments: