Thursday, October 30, 2008

AYRSHIRE GOLF ASSOCIATION AGM - Alasdair Malcolm elected President for 2008 - 2010

At the Annual General Meeting of The Ayrshire Golf Association, held at Ballochmyle Golf Club on Wednesday 29th October 2008, Alasdair Malcolm - pictured right - was elected as President of the association for 2008 - 2010, succeeding Ricky Magee (Caprington).

Alasdair, who is a member of both the Prestwick St. Nicholas and Prestwick St. Cuthbert clubs has served in various posts throughout his 20 years service on the Ayrshire Golf Asssociation Executive.

An R & A and SGU qualified referee, he has refereed at both national and international levels in recent seasons.

Alasdair began his involvement in golf administration as junior convenor at Prestwick St. Cuthbert and in 1989 took on the post of Secretary of The Ayrshire Junior Golf League, a position held for over 16 years. In recognition of his service to the junior league, he was elected an Honorary Member of the league in 2002.

In accepting the post of President, Alasdair paid tribute to the work of his predecessor, Riicky Magee, not only during his two year Presidency but also in his many years working for The Ayrshire Golf Association, particularly in the field of coaching. Alasdair commented that it was most appropriate that Ayrshire and individuals from the county had enjoyed much success on a national level during Ricky's term of office, winning the Boys Area Team Championship, West Of Scotland Youths League, Scottish Boys Championship, runner up in the Scottish Amateur Championship and Scottish Boys and gents Order Of Merit titles, as well as the 2008 Area Team Championship, with the latter trophy being on display at the AGM for members to view.

many of the successes over the last two years featured players who had progressed throguh the county coaching programme, which Ricky had been instrumental in developing.

Also at the AGM, David Miller (Kilmarnock Barassie) - pictured below - was elected as Vice President of The Ayrshire Golf Association for 2008 - 2010.

A former junior club champion at Prestwick St. Cuthbert, David is a long standing member of the Kilmarnock Barassie club, having served his home club in various positions including that of junior convenor. During his tenure in charge of the juniors at Kilmarnock Barassie, David also served as Chairman of The Ayrshire Junior Golf League.

Still playing golf to a high standard, David is former winner of the Ayrshire Champion Of Champions title, winning in 1998 where he beat the holder David Glass (Prestwick St. Cuthbert) who was bidding for a hat trick of wins in the event.

David is also a past Club Champion of his home club and three times winner of the Troon St. Meddans Club Championship.

His recent retirement from the Fire Service has seen David compete in the recently formed Scottish Seniors Golf Society tournaments where he has regularly featured in the leading returns.

David is an SGU qualified referee and has officiated in area and national events over the last couple of seasons.

Long serving Secretary/Treasurer Leslie Crawford (Kilmarnock Barassie)- pictured below - was re elected to his post at the AGM, whilst the three vacancies on the Executive were filled by serving members, Allan Muir (Caprington), Ronnie Potts (Irvine Ravenspark) and Milton Murray (Largs).

Representatives of member clubs present also heard reports on the 2008 season with regard to the work of the Scottish Golf Union as well as local reports on the finances of The Association, Coaching, Course Rating, and The Ayrshire Junior Golf League.

No comments: