Tuesday, September 06, 2022

AYRSHIRE FINALS DAY - Destination of three Ayrshire titles decided at Largs

The destination of three Ayrshire titles for 2022 were decided on Sunday the 4th of September at Largs GC when the Finals day was held over the Kelburn course.

Fourball winners - Ayr Dalmilling

The AYRSHIRE FOURBALL CHAMPIONSHIP final was between Grant and George Gemmell of Prestwick St Cuthbert, who were bidding to take the trophy back to their home club for the first time since 1999, and Stuart & Sean Thorburn of Ayr Dalmilling who were looking for a first win in the competition on behalf of their club. With Sean Thorburn the back marker off a handicap of 7, he gave five shots to George Gemmell, four to his playing partner and two to Grant Gemmell.

It was the Dalmilling pairing that got off to a great start, taking the opening two holes with pars before winning the fourth with a birdie two to establish a three hole lead but the St Cuthbert pairing steadied over the next three holes, before going further behind when a bogey four was enough to win the eighth hole, and let the Ayr Dalmilling pair turn for home after nine holes with a four hole lead.The St Cuthbert duo reduced the deficit to three holes with a par four at the tenth and a birdie four two holes later brought the match score back to two in favour of the Ayr Dalmilling duo, but that was as close as the Gemmell's got to their opponents, with the Thorburn's taking both the fourteenth and fifteenth in pars to win the match by 4 & 3 and take the trophy back to Ayr Dalmilling for the first time in the history of the championship.

The final of the AYRSHIRE HANDICAP LEAGUE CHAMPIONSHIP was a re-run of the 2021 event, with defending champions Moorpark again facing Rowallan Castle in the final, and it proved to be a very close affair with the teams being matched 3 - 3 at the conclusion of the six ties.

With Rowallan Castle giving shots in all six ties, it was the Moorpark side who took the early initiative, Andrew Armstrong (14) beating Neil Whyte (10) by 7 & 6 and Alan Burns (16) beating Kevin Hamilton (11) by 7 & 5 to establish a 2 - 0 lead. Though Rowallan Castle fought back, Willie Syme (13) beating David Marwick (16) by 7 & 6 and Jim Heaney (13) beating James McGill (17) by 3 & 2, to square the match 2 - 2, the decisive result came when Jamie ralston (19) beat Graeme Telfer (15) by 4 & 3 to establish a 3 - 2 lead in the match for the defending champions from Moorpark.

Handicap League Champions - Moorpark GC

A 2 hole victory by Craig Hutchieson (18) over Bill Bell (20) in the anchor tie squared the match 3 - 3 for Rowallan castle but on the countback over the individual tie scores, the title was retained by Moorpark by virtue of a 32 - 18 countback score overall.

The other final played at Largs on Finals Day was the scratch club team knockout competition, for the GARY BRYDEN MEMORIAL SALVER, between Ballochmyle and Largs.

Gary Bryden Memorial Salver winners - Largs GC

With the foursomes tie, between William Fleming and Neil Clapperton of Ballochmyle and Brian Fisher and Kevin Walker of Largs, finishing 3 & 1 in favour of Largs, and the lead singles between Craig Hamilton of Ballochmyle and Scott Davidson of Largs being won 4 & 3 by Davidson, the title was won by Largs and the final singles tie, between Tommy Loy of Ballochmyle and John Robertson of Largs was agreed as a half to give a final match score of 2.5 - 0.5 in favour of the 2022 winners from Largs, who secured the title for the first time since the championship was inaugurated in 2016.

The remaining title to be concluded this season is the handicap club team knockout competition for THE PRESIDENT'S PUTTER, which will be contested by Moorpark and West Kilbride on Sunday the 11th of September at Loudoun Gowf Club.

No comments: