Monday, September 18, 2017

AYRSHIRE JUNIOR GOLF LEAGUE CHAMPIONSHIP - Kilmarnock (Barassie) win 2017 league title on countback

Kilmarnock (Barassie) are the 2017 Ayrshire Junior Golf League Champions, after edging out Ballochmyle in a close final at Troon Darley on Sunday 17th September.
The 2017 Ayrshire Junior Golf League Champions
Kilmarnock (Barassie)

Robbie Muir and Ewan Milligan got the Kilmarnock (Barassie) team off to a good start, winning the leading two ties to put the team 2 - 0 ahead, and with Ben Watson winning his tie comfortably, the Barassie side looked well on the way to a comfortable title win with a 3 - 0 lead overall.

The Ballochmyle team fought back though, Robbie Graham and Jack Allan putting two points on the board and bringing the match score back to 3 - 2 for Barassie with one tie remaining on the course.

With the last tie on the course between Craig Erenz and Cameron Orr going to the last, the previous results already ensured that Kilmarnock (Barassie) would take the title on the countback, even if the final tie was lost, but to the credit of Cameron Orr he battled on for a one hole win to ensure that the match score would finish in a 3 - 3 draw for his team, even though the title was lost on the countback to the 2017 Ayrshire Junior GOlf League champions Kilmarnock (Barassie).

The 2017 Ayrshire Junior Golf League finalists
at Troon

Match details (Kilmarnock Barassie names first):-

Robbie Muir beat Christopher Hunter by 2 holes
Ewan Milligan beat Lewis MacMillan by 3&1
Ross McDonald lost Jack Allan by 2&1
Ben Watson beat Jamie Montgomery by 7&6
Fraser Wallace lost Robbie Graham by 5&4
Craig Erentz lost Cameron Orr by 1 hole


Kilmarnock Barassie won on count back.

No comments: