Monday, May 01, 2006

AYRSHIRE MATCHPLAY CHAMPIONSHIP - McInally and Bryden lead charge for the 2006 title

Tommy McInally (Loudoun) and Gary Bryden (Girvan) led the way in the challenge for the 2006 Ayrshire Strokeplay Championship after the first round was completed on Monday evening, 1st May 2006, defeating their respective opponents by a crushing 6 & 5 margin.

Graeme Gimson (Prestwick St. Cuthbert) came in as a late replacement for Robert McKnight (Kilmarnock Barassie), but narrowly failed to progress to round 2, losing on the final green.

First round results were :-

Brian Moore (Largs) lost to Ian Walker (Brunston castle) 1 hole
Tony Fraser (Annanhill) beat George Robertson (Irvine Ravenspark) 2 & 1
Tommy McInally (Loudoun) beat C. Mcgowan (Troon Welbeck) 6 & 5
John Cairney (Irvine Ravenspark) beat Craig McLaughlin (Largs) 2 & 1
Barry Crawford (West Kilbride) lost to Alan McLean (Kilbirnie Place) 2 & 1
Tommy Loy (Ballochmyle) beat Graeme Gimson (Prestwick St. Cuthbert) 1 hole
Craig Hamilton (Ballochmyle) lost to Gary Bryden (Girvan) 6 & 5
Alastair Leggate (Kilmarnock Barassie) lost to Neil Black (Caprington) 2 & 1

Second round ties, scheduled for Tuesday 2nd May, are :-

1700 - Ian Walker (Brunston castle) Vs. Tony Fraser (Annanhill)

1710 - Tommy McInally (Loudoun) Vs. John Cairney (Irvine Ravenspark)

1720 - Alan McLean (Kilbirnie Place) Vs. Tommy Loy (Ballochmyle)

1730 - Gary Bryden (Girvan) Vs.Neil Black (Caprington)

No comments: