Monday, April 11, 2005

AYRSHIRE BOYS TEAM CHAMPIONSHIP - Barassie retain championship at Ballochmyle

Holders Kilmarnock (Barassie) retained the Matt Lygate Trophy and the title of Ayrshire Boys Team Champions at Ballochmyle on Sunday 10th April, with an 6 shot victory over their nearest rivals in the 20 strong field.

With three scores from four counting towards the team total, it was the host club, Ballochmyle who set the early pace. 5 handicapper David Robertson led the way for Ballochmyle, a level par 70 (nett 65) setting an early target in both the individual scratch and nett scoring.

Building on the lead players efforts, Jordan Fleming (77-6=71), Gary Herbertson (81-9=72) and Craig Nicol (83-11=72) combined to post team totals for Ballochmyle of 228 scratch and 208 nett.

Ultimately, none of the other teams in the field got within 10 shots of Ballochmyle's nett score, and when Kilmarnock Barassie overtook the hosts scratch aggregate, the Ballochmyle team secured the ANDREW D. NIMMO TROPHY and the title of Handicap Team Champions.

Despite the replacement of Scottish Internationalist David Addison, Kilmarnock (Barassie) fielded the strongest team in the competition, with two other boys internationalists Robert McKnight and Steven McEwan in the side.

Robert McKnight led by example, posting a superb 3 under par score of 67, in difficult conditions. The round included an inward half of 5 under par 30, which boasted an eagle 2 at the 413 yard, par 4, 11th hole. Jamie Mackay (82) and Steven McEwan (73) provided Barassie's other counting scores, with Euan Brown's 86 being discarded. The Barassie boys efforts combined for a team total of 222, 6 shots ahead of the target set by Ballochmyle.

Despite the efforts of other sides, particularly Ardeer and Largs, none of the other competitng clubs could get clost to Kilmarnock (Barassie) in the premier event, and the holders ultimately retained THE MATT LYGATE TROPHY.

In the individual competition, Robert McKnight (Kilmarnock Barassie) comfortably won the PRESTWICK CIRCUITS TROPHY for the best scratch score, his 3 under par 67 matching the best ever winning score in the event, recorded by Graeme Fox (West Kilbride) some 12 years ago.

Despite losing out to McKnight in the scratch event, David Robertson (Ballochmyle) won the CARRICK TROPHY for the best individual nett score, his 5 under par 65 being 4 shots ahead of his nearest rival.

Ballochmyle Captain Kenny Geals presented trophies and prizes to the successful competitors at the conclusion of play.

The full list of prizewinners is :-

MATT LYGATE TROPHY (Ayrshire Boys Team Champions)

Winners - Kilmarnock (Barassie) - 222 - Jamie Mackay, Robert McKnight, Steven McEwan & Euan Brown

Runners Up - Largs - 233 (best 4th score) - Grant Macfarlane, Craig McLauchlin, Andrew Connell, Andrew Abercrombie.

Third - Ardeer - 233 - John Shanks, Fergus Cunningham, Scott Ainsworth, Martin Dunning.

ANDREW D. NIMMO TROPHY (Handicap Champions)

Winners - Ballochmyle - David Robertson, Jordan Fleming, Gary Herbertson, Craig Nicol


Winner - Robert McKnight (Kilmarnock Barassie) - 67

CARRICK TROPHY - (Individual Nett)

Winner - David Robertson (Ballochmyle) - 70-5=65


0-6 handicap - Fergus Cunningham (Ardeer) - 74-4=70
7-11 handicap - Martin Dunning (Ardeer) - 80-8=72 (bih)
12-18 handicap - Ewan Ross (Beith) - 86-17=69

The C.S.S. for the competition rose to 71 (+2).

No comments: