Monday, May 08, 2023

AYRSHIRE MATCHPLAY CHAMPIONSHIP - First round matches completed at a wet Loudoun Gowf Club

The sixteen qualifiers in the 2023 Ayrshire Matchplay Championship had to endure wet conditions at Loudoun Gowf Club on Monday the 8th of May when the tightly contested first round matches were completed.

Notably, a new matchplay Champion was assured even before the first tie teed off in the 2023 competition, with none of the former winners of the title having qualified to contest the championship this year.

Only two of the ties on Monday evening did not go to the final green or beyond. Biggest winner of the night was Harvey Broadfoot (Royal Troon) who beat Cameron Aitken (Largs) by 5 & 4, whilst Prestwick St Cuthbert Club Captain Mark Watt was the only other winner before the 18th hole, beating Harvey McDonald (Turnberry) by 3 & 2.

Single hole wins saw Aidan Long (Ayr Belleisle), Blair Morton (Royal Troon), and Louis Alberts (Troon St Meddans) through against Steven Stamper (Girvan), Nicholas Gold (Troon Sr Meddans), and Graeme Gimson (Prestwick St Cuthbert) respectively.

The remaining three ties all finished at the first extra hole, after being tied after the regulation 18 holes of the match had been played.

Brian Fisher (Largs) beat the new Ayrshire Strokeplay Champion Colin Goudie (Ayr Belleisle), Barry O'Rourke (Caprington) beat clubmate Andrew Gibson, and the quarter final line up was completed by Kevin Thomas (Prestwick St Cuthbert), who beat Jamie Murchie (Largs).

The quarter finals are scheduled to take place at Loudoun on Tuesday the 9th of May.

Prestwick St Cuthbert are assured a semi finalist with Mark Watt and Kevin Thomas facing each other for a place in the last four.

Brian Fisher will play Barry O'Rourke in the quarter final, with Blair Morton playing Louis Alberts and Aidan Long taking on Harvey Broadfoot.

Brian Fisher & Colin Goudie 

Andrew Gibson & Barry O'Rourke

Harvey Broadfoot & Cameron Aitken

Louis Alberts & Graeme Gimson

Aidan Long & Steven Stamper

Mark Watt & Harvey McDonald

Blair Morton & Nicholas Gold

Jamie Murchie & Kevin Thomas

No comments: