Monday, February 27, 2023

AYRSHIRE GOLF ASSOCIATION DINNER - 40th event celebrated in style at Royal Troon

The 40th Ayrshire Golf Association Annual Dinner and Presentation of Prizes took place on Friday the 24th of February at Royal Troon, where a capacity audience were entertained by special guest speakers Richard Gordon, the well known Scottish television and radio broadcaster, and the 1999 Open Golf Champion Paul Lawrie.

Chaired by Ayrshire Golf Association President Scott Gilchrist of Loudoun Gowf Club, the company were welcomed to the host venue by club Captain John McGregor before enjoying an excellent meal.

Top table guests and officials
Back Row - Kenny McLean (Lanarkshire GA President), Andy Gilligan (AGA Vice President), Paul Moultrie (Royal Troon), Stephen Machin (Glasgow GU President), Lyall Campbell (Renfrewshire GU President), Stuart Miller (Active Office - sponsors), Frank Gloag (Dumbartonshire GU President), Alasdair J Malcolm (AGA Secretary)
Front Row - John McGregor (Royal Troon captain), Liz Munro (Scottish Golf President), Scott Gilchrist (AGA President), Paul Lawrie (Guest Speaker), Richard Gordon (Guest Speaker)

A review of the previous season followed by President Gilchrist, before the two guest speakers entertained the company with golfing stories and experiences from Paul Lawrie's career and golfing successes.

The Claret Jug adorned the top table during the evening and several attendees were fortunate enough to get photographs with the trophy and Paul Lawrie during the function.

For the first time the event also included a charity raffle and auction, to raise funds for The Association's preferred charity for 2023, Whiteleys retreat, and with the generosity of member clubs and several individuals there were plenty of prizes up for grabs in the raffle.

Raffle prize winners were:-

Ardeer Fourball

Donated by Ardeer GC

Iain Brown

Ballochmyle Fourball

Donated by Ballochmyle GC

Rodger Gray

Golf South Ayrshire Fourball

Donated by Golf South Ayrshire

Allan Brownlee

Irvine Fourball

Donated by Irvine GC

Billy Stewart

Loudoun Fourball

Donated by Loudoun GC

Andy Reid

Kilbirnie Place Fourball

Donated by Kilbirnie Place GC

David Johnstone

Routenburn Fourball

Donated by Routenburn GC

Aiden Long

Rowallan Castle Fourball

Donated by Rowallan Castle GC

John W Watt

Shiskine Fourball

Donated by Shiskine GC    

Mark Cheyne

Skelmorlie Fourball

Donated by Skelmorlie GC

Kenny McLean

Lesson Voucher

donated by David McLure (Prestwick St Cuthbert)

Stuart Herron

Bottle of Vodka

Donated by Scott Gilchrist

Scott Singleton

A dozen AyrshirePro V’s

Donated by the AGA

Joy Currie

Bottle of Jim Beam

Donated by Barry O’Rourke

Richard Gordon

Ayrshire Umbrella

Donated by the AGA

Frank Gloag

Bottle of Whisky

Donated by Scott Gilchrist

Ian Yates

Ayrshire Holdall

Donated b y the AGA

Jamie Miller

Bottle of Malt Whisky

Donated by Jimmy McGhee

Robbie McFarlane

A dozen Ayrshire Wilson Staff Staff Model balls

Donated by the AGA

Kevin Meek

Bottle of Gin

Donated by Alasdair Malcolm

Alistair Belford

Ayrshire shoe bag

Donated by the AGA

Grant Hood

Largs Fourball

Donated by Largs GC

Paul Lawrie

Prestwick St Nicholas Fourball

Donated by Prestwick St Nicholas GC

Derek Jolliffe

West Kilbride Fourball           

Donated by West Kilbride GC

Mark Watt

Bottle & golf balls

Donated by Liz Keohone

Ian Yates

Bottle of vodka

Donated by Debbie Watt

John Murdoch

Bottle of whisky

Donated by Irvine Ravenspark GC

Ian Logan

Guest speaker Paul Lawrie also donated a signed golf shirt which was auctioned on the night, along with fourball vouchers for Troon Portland donated by Royal Troon GC, Dundonald Links donated by the course owners Darwin Leisure, and Prestwick donated by Prestwick GC.

In total the raffle and auction raised over £1,900 for Whiteleys Retreat, through the generosity of those who donated prizes and those who attended the dinner.

The evening concluded with the presentation of trophies and special awards to those players and clubs who had enjoyed success throughout the 2022 season.

Louise Duncan of West Kilbride, who could not be present on the night, was recognised with an award for her achievement in being selected for the Great Britain & Ireland Curtis Cup team in 2022 and the award was collected on her behalf by West Kilbride club Captain Kevin Meek.

Two Royal Troon members were selected at Senior international level for Scotland in 2022, playing in both the European men's Senior team Championship in Estonia ands well as the successful Scotland side that won the inaugural combined Woman's and Men's Home Internationals in Wales.

Doc Thom Salver winner Steven McEwan

Robert Jenkins was unable to attend, with his award being collected on his behalf by Royal Troon Captain John McGregor, whilst Paul Moultrie was in attendance and collected his award personally.

The evening progressed with the presentation of all the season's trophies and awards from 2022, culminating in the presentation of the Doc Thom Ayrshire Order of Merit salver to the 2022 winner Steven McEwan (Caprington).

Ayrshire Golf Association Vice President Andrew Gilligan (Royal Troon) brought a memorable evening to a close with a vote of thanks to all involved. 

West Kilbride Captain Kevin Meek accepted
Louise Duncan's award

Royal Troon Captain John McGregor
accepted Robert Jenkins' award

Senior Internationalist
 Paul Moultrie

Club Champions - Caprington

Largs Captain Ian Capperauld
with the Gary Bryden Salve

Handicap League -  Moorpark

President's Putter - Moorpark

Scratch League Division 3 - Ayr Belleisle

Scratch League Division 2 - Ballochmyle

Scratch League Division 1 - Irvine

Senior Champion - Derek Jolliffe

Senior Matchplay winner - Alistair Belford

Strokeplay Champion - Scott Brown

Champion of Champions - Blair Morton

Doc Thom Order of Merit third place - Scott Brown

Doc Thom Order of Merit runner up - Steven Stamper

Doc Thom Salver winner - Steven McEwan

No comments: