Monday, October 25, 2021

AYRSHIRE GOLF ASSOCIATION A.G.M. - Scott Gilchrist elected President

Scott Gilchrist (Loudoun) has been elected President of The Ayrshire Golf Association for the period 2021 to 2023, at the Annual General Meeting, held at Loudoun Gowf Club on Monday the 25th of October 2021. 

An executive member since July 2013, Scott has been a mainstay of junior golf development in Ayrshire and has been instrumental in developing an excellent team ethos in the the boys' squad and coaching programme, which has resulted in Ayrshire winning the West of Scotland Under 18 Inter County League twice in recent years and culminated in the Ayrshire team's triumph in the 2021 Scottish Boys Area Team Championship.

In taking over from immediate Past president John W Watt (Prestwick St Cuthbert), Scott becomes only the second Loudoun member to hold the post of Association President, 34 years after Chic Bruce filled the President's roll from 1987 to 1989.

Also at the A.G.M. Andrew Gilligan (Royal Troon) was elected Vice President of The Association for the next two years. A Past Captain and Secretary of the Troon St Meddans Club, where he is also still a member, Andrew joined The Executive in 2017, and has already contributed significantly to the work of The Association, especially when assisting with the administration of the County teams and coaching programme.

The association Secretary/Treasurer Alasdair J. Malcolm (Prestwick St Cuthbert), who has served The Association in various roles in the 32 years since he first joined The Executive, was re-elected to the post he has held since 2009.

Robert Wilson (Ballochmyle) and Sandy Walker (Kilmarnock Barassie) were both re elected to The Executive for a three year period, and were joined for the first time by three new Executive members in Ross Caddis (Kilmarnock Barassie), Jim McGhee (Loudoun) and Liz Keohone (Loudoun), whilst Past President John Rushbury (Royal Troon) was re-elected to The Executive, to fill a two year vacancy.    

During the meeting the President's Report, Financial Report,,Coaching Report, Course Rating Report, and Ayrshire Junior Golf League Report, which had all been previously circulated to member clubs, were approved, as was The Association's proposal to retain the per capita membership subscription at £2.50, with the meeting also being advised that the Scottish Golf per capita would remain at £14.50 as previously agreed at a national level.

There were no other matters raised for discussion at the A.G.M.

No comments: