Tuesday, February 08, 2005

THE AYRSHIRE JUNIOR GOLF LEAGUE - Draws for the 2005 competitions

The draws for the 2005 Ayrshire Junior Golf League competitions were made at the Executive Meeting on Monday 7th February by Chairman Douglas Aitken (Caprington), in his final duty before his impending emigration to Turkey.

In the LEAGUE CHAMPIONSHIP defending champions Ardeer have been drawn in the four team section D, along with Caprington, Irvine Ravenspark and Skelmorlie.

2004 Runners Up Kilmarnock (Barassie) will contest section B alongside last years semi finalists, Beith. Troon St. Meddans, and local rivals West Kilbride and Largs complete the line up.

The full draw is:-

SECTION A - Ballochmyle, Annanhill, Largs Routenburn, Prestwick St. Cuthbert & New Cumnock.

SECTION B - Beith, Largs, West Kilbride, Kilmarnock (Barassie) & Troon St. Meddans.

SECTION C - Ayr Belleisle, Loudoun, Kilbirnie Place, Prestwick St. Nicholas & Troon Welbeck.

SECTION D - Caprington, Irvine Ravenspark, Ardeer & Skelmorlie.

In the UNDER 16 KNOCKOUT TROPHY, holders West Kilbride received a bye into round 2 where they will play host to Annanhill. 2004 runners up, Prestwick St. Cuthbert also received a bye and play host to near neighbours St. Nicholas in round 2, whilst there is another local derby when St. Meddans and Welbeck meet at Troon. The full draw is:-

ROUND 1 (to be played by 8th May 2005)

Beith Vs. Ayr Belleisle
Caprington Vs. Ardeer
Kilmarnock (Barassie) Vs. Kilbirnie Place

ROUND 2 (to be played by 5th June 2005)

Loudoun Vs. New Cumnock
Beith or Belleisle Vs. Skelmorlie
Troon St. Meddans Vs. Troon Welbeck
Largs Routenburn Vs. Ballochmyle
West Kilbride Vs. Annanhill
Prestwick St. Cuthbert Vs. Prestwick St. Nicholas
Caprington or Ardeer Vs. Irvine Ravenspark
Largs Vs. Kilmarnock (Barassie) or Kilbirnie Place

In the CHAMPION OF CHAMPIONS TROPHY, Cameron Gray (West Kilbride) returns to defend the title, and faces Stephen Hart of Largs Routenburn in a second round match. With some of the competitors details still to be notified, the full draw is :-

ROUND 1 (to be played by 8th May)

(Troon St. Meddans) Vs. Mark Tait (Annanhill)
James Tarrant (Prestwick St. Cuthbert) Vs. Craig McLaughlin (Largs)
Ewan Ross (Beith) Vs. Scott Ainsworth (Ardeer)

ROUND 2 (to be played by 5th June)

Gordon Munro (Caprington) Vs. Steven Carrington (Ayr Belleisle)
(St. Meddans or Annanhill) Vs. Michael Stewart (Troon Welbeck)
Cameron Gray (West Kilbride) Vs. Stephen Hart (Largs Routenburn)
Jordan Fleming (New Cumnock) Vs. Graeme Muir (Loudoun)
Steven McEwan (Kilmarnock Barassie) Vs. (St. Cuthbert or Largs)
(Beith or Ardeer) Vs. (Ravenspark)
Stuart Robin (Prestwick St. Nicholas) Vs. Calum Crowe (Kilbirnie)
David Robertson (Ballochmyle) Vs. (Skelmorlie)

The Season begins on Sunday 10th April with the traditional opener, The Ayrshire Boys Team Championship, being hosted this year by Ballochmyle Golf Club.

No comments: