Friday, March 01, 2024

AYRSHIRE GOLF ASSOCIATION ANNUAL DINNER - 2023 winners honoured at Carlton Hotel

The successful teams and individuals in Ayrshire Golf Association events in 2023 were honoured on Friday the 23rd of february at the annual dinner and presentation of trophies oif The Ayrshire Golf Association, held in the Carlton Hotel in Prestwick.

Chaired by AGA President Andrew Gilligan, the event attracted a good crowd, who enjoyed and excellent three course meal in fine surroundings.

The evening culminated in the presentation of trophies and awards for the season.

The awards began with an appreciation to Past President John Rutherford for his services to course rating in Ayrshire since the inception of the scheme, from which he retired in 2023.

Presentations were also made to Robert Jenkins and paul Moultrie, in recognition of their selection to represent scotland Senior team in 2023. 

The boys and youths team who won the President's trophy in the annual fixture with the South of Scotland were honoured, as were the youth squad players who won the West of Scotland Inter County Youths league for the first time in 10 years in 2023, many of whom were present to receive their commemorative medals. 

The annual trophies were awareded to the various recipients, culminating in the presentation of the Doc Thom Salver and Ayrshire Order of merit title to Blair Morton of Royal Troon.

The evening concluded with a vote of thanks given by Ayrshire Golf Association Vice President Barry O'Rourke.

Service award to John Rutherford

Royal Troon Vice Captain
Graeme Johnston
accepts Robert Jenkins' award

Paul Moultrie's 
international award

Fraser Innes with the 
West of Scotland Club Team Trophy
won by Largs

Paul Kennedy accepting the 
President's Trophy on behalf of
the Ayrshire Boys/Youths team

The winning West of Scotland Youth League squad

Robert Wilson & William Fleming
with the West of Scotland Youth League trophy

Fourball winners
Les Knox & Wullie Young
(Auchenharvie 88)

Sandy Walker
with the Club  Championship Trophy
won by Kilmarnock Barassie

Loudoun Gowf Club
Captain David Johnstone
with the Gary Bryden Memorial Salver

President's Putter winners
Auchenharvie 88

Caprington Vice Captain Robbie Gibson
with the Ayrshire Women's Handicap League trophy

Men's Handicap League winners
Auchenharvie 88

Troon St Meddans Captain Alistair Tweedie
With the Scratch League Division 3 trophy

Prestwick St Cuthbert Captain Mark Watt
with the Scratch League Division 2 trophy

Steve McKnight accepts the
Scratch league Division 1 trophy 
on behalf of Royal Troon

Senior men's Strokeplay winner
James McIntyre (Redburn)

Senior men's Matchplay winner
Brian Fisher (Largs)

Women's handicap Strokeplay winner
Orla Moran (Irvine)

Louodun's Liz Keohone
accepts the Ayrshire Women's Strokeplay trophy
on behalf of clubmate Audrey Thompson

Men's Strokeplay Champion
Colin Goudie (Ayr Belleisle)

Men's Matchplay Champion
Kevin Thomas (Prestwick St Cuthbert)

Debbie Watt (Ayr Belleisle Ladies)
with the Women's Champion of Champions Trophy

Men's Champion of Champions winner
Craig hamilton (Ballochmyle)

Men's Order of Merit runner up
Harvey Broadfoot (Royal Troon)

Doc Thom Salver and Order of Merit winner
Blair Morton (Royal Troon)

No comments: