Tuesday, March 28, 2023

AYRSHIRE Vs SOUTH OF SCOTLAND - victory for the hosts in President's Trophy match at Girvan

The combined Ayrshire boys and youths team got their season off to a winning start on Sunday the 26th of March at Girvan GC, with victory in the annual match against the South of Scotland for the President's Trophy.

The match saw teams of twelve players, with four under 16's, four under 18's and four under 23's, playing six foursomes matches in the morning and twelve singles ties in the afternoon for the 18 match points available.

In the morning foursomes the two teams shared the spoils, with the match score poised at 3-3 going into the afternoon singles.

As the South of Scotland were the trophy holders, after victory on home soil last year, Ayrshire needed six and a half points from the twelve singles matches to win the trophy back from their opponents.

The four under sixteen players got Ayrshire off to a great start in the afternoon, winning three of the four singles ties and the under 18 players followed suit, taking three of the four ties to leave Ayrshire needing just a half match from the four youths ties to ensure victory.

The South of Scotland team were not giving up the trophy easily though, and after they won the first three of the four youths ties, it was left to Team Captain Harvey McDonald, in the anchor tie, to win his game and secure a victory overall for the Ayrshire team by 10 - 8.

At the conclusion of the match the Ayrshire Golf Association President, Scott Gilchrist handed the president's Trophy over to Harvey McDonald who accepted it on behalf of the team after a fine collective  performance.

Five of the Ayrshire team managed to secure maximum points for the team in the match, winning both their foursomes and singles ties, including the Irvine GC trio of Liam Moran, Aidan Hay and Ryan Kennedy, as well as Ardeer's Dylan Scally and Turnberry's Harvey McDonald.

Match details (Ayrshire names first)


Liam Moran (Irvine) & Aidan Hay (Irvine) beat Joe Currie (Dumfries & County) & Isaac Scott (Lochmaben) by 4 & 3.

Ollie Kane (Royal Troon) & Finlay Watt (West Kilbride) lost to Ben Carmichael (Dumfries & County) & Joe Clark (Dumfries & County) by 1 hole

Ollie Long (Kilmarnock Barassie) & Harris Fleming (Troon Welbeck) lost to Connor Moffat (Dumfries & Galloway) & Murray Paterson (Dumfries & County) by 2 & 1

Ryan Kennedy (Irvine) & Dylan Scally (Ardeer) beat Harry Lockwood (Portpatrick) & Christopher Wilson (Kirkcudbright) by 4 & 3

Harvey McDonald (Turnberry) & Jamie Hay (Ayr Belleisle) beat Colin McKenzie (Lochmaben) & Rogan McGaw (Dumfries & County) by 5 & 4

David Blyth (Ballochmyle) & Jack Allan (Ballochmyle) lost to Mitchell Cowie (Dumfries & County) & Adam Scott (Lochmaben) by 7 & 6.



Liam Moran beat Joe Currie by 3 & 2

Aidan Hay beat Isaac Scott by 2 holes

Oliver Kane lost to Ben Carmichael by 2 holes

Finlay Watt beat Joe Clark by 4 & 2

Ollie Long beat Christopher Wilson by 4 & 2

Harris Fleming lost to Harry Lockwood by 6 & 5

Ryan Kennedy beat Connor Moffat by 5 & 4

Dylan Scally beat Murray Paterson b y 4 & 2

Jamie Hay lost to Adam Scott by 2 & 1

David Blyth lost to Rogan Mcgaw by 4 & 2

Jack Allan lost to Mitchell Cowie by 4 & 3

Harvey McDonald beat Colin McKenzie by 5 & 4





No comments: