Tuesday, January 08, 2019

NEW FACES AT THE ASSOCIATION - Executive changes in 2019

There will be a number of new faces at Ayrshire events this year following the retiral of four executive members at the Annual General Meeting in October last year, and the co-option of four new Executive members recently.

Iain Harvey, Milton Murray, Gordon Boyle and Peter Doyle
At the AGM, the longest serving executive member, former Scottish Golf Union President Iain Harvey of Kilmarnock Barassie GC, retired after 27 years on the Area executive, and was subsequently elected as an Honorary Life President at the meeting.

Milton Murray of Irvine GC, who joined the Executive in 2005 and served as Preident of The Association from 2012 to 2014, also retired from the Executive at the AGM, as did Gordon Boyle of Turnberry GC and Troon Welbeck's Peter Doyle.

Thanks are extended to all four retirees from all at The Ayrshire Golf association for their contribution to the work of The Association during their tenure.

Joining the Executive this year are a number of 'weel kent' faces in Ayrshire golfing circles.

Tommy McInally of Loudoun GC is familiar throughout the county, having won many county titles and trophies in a very succesful playng career. Tommy has played for the Ayrshire county team for many years, at boy's, youth's and men's levels, and enjoyed success icluding being a member of two Scottish Area Team Championship winning teams, and his experience will be an asset to the represntative teams during the forthcoming season.

Tommy McInally, Barry O'Rourke, Martin Cairns and Sandy Walker

Also joining the Executive from Loudoun GC is Barry O'Rourke who is also a low handicap golfer and a regular competitor in county events over many years, and brings considerable experience in competition administration from his involvement at club level.

Martin Cairns of Prestwick St Nicholas also joins the Executive in 2019. As junior convener at his home club he has been instrumental in reinvigorating the junior section and at a county level has led the way in building support for many junior competitions, and it is certain that martain's enthusiasm will benefit hthe junior programmes within the county going forward.

The other new member of the executive this year is Sandy Walker of Kilmarnock Barassie who is a past0 club champion of his home club and has played for Ayrshire teams at both boys and youth levels. Still a playing member of the youth team, Sandy will be assisting with the administration of the Boys and Youtsh squads in the coming year.  

A warm welcome is extended to the new Executive members as The Association looks forward to the 2019 season.

No comments: