Wednesday, February 29, 2012

AYRSHIRE GOLF DINNER - Ryder Cup puts in a guest appearance as Ayrshire honours 2011 winners

President Miller with the Ryder Cup
A capacity audience at the 2012 Ayrshire Golf Association Annual Dinner, held at Prestwick St Nicholas on Friday 24th February, were treated to a surprise appearance of the Ryder Cup, when guest speaker Sandy Jones of the PGA brought the iconic trophy along for the evening to give the members present an opportunity to see it up close and get photos taken with the cup.

The evening opened with President David Miller (Kilmarnock Barassie) carrying the Ryder Cup into the room before Prestwick St Nicholas Club captain Alan Poole welcomed the attendees to the club.

Scottish Club Champions
After President David Miller introduced the top table guests, the assembled company enjoyed an excellent meal.

After dinner, President Miller gave a run down of the successes enjoyed by Ayrshire players in 2011 before the company were entertained by guest Speaker Sandy Jones.

Scottish Boys Champion
David Wilson
As the evening drew to a close, President Miller presented trophies and awards to the succesful players from 2011.

Pride of place went to the two national champions present, Scottish Boys Champion David Wilson and the trio of Craig Hamilton, William Fleming and Graham Rowan who won the Scottish Club Championship representing Ballochmyle.

The 2011 Roll Of Honour was :-
Doc Thom Order Of Merit
Michael Smyth

Scottish Boys Champion - David Wilson (Troon Welbeck)
Scottish Club Champions - Ballochmyle (C Hamilton, W Fleming, G Rowan)
Scottish Area Team Championship Bronze Medals - Ayrshire
Scottish Boys Area Team Championship Silver Medals - Ayrshire
Ayrshire Boys Champion - Callum Beveridge (Troon Welbeck)
Ayrshire Boys Matchplay Champion - Callum Beveridge (Troon Welbeck)
Junior Order Of Merit - David Wilson (Troon Welbeck)
Ayrshire Fourball Trophy - Kilbirnie Place (Barry O'Rourke & Robert Nairn)
Sratch Leagues - Div 1 Troon Welbeck (Frank Henderson)
Div 2 - Ballochmyle (Billy Andrew)
Div 3 - Prestwick St Cuthbert (Steven Gillies)
Div 4 - Prestwick St Nicholas (Alan Poole)
Div 5 - Girvan (Gary Bryden)
Ayrshire Club Champions - Ballochmyle
Scratch League Division 1 - Troon Welbeck
Scratch League Division 2 - Ballochmyle
Scratch League Division 3 - Prestwick St Cuthbert
Scratch League Division 4 - Prestwick St Nicholas
Scratch League Division 5 - Girvan
Ayrshire Seniors Champion - Tom McKay (Annanhill)
Ayrshire Matchplay Champion - Michael Smyth (Royal Troon)
Ayrshire Strokeplay Champion - Jamie Mackay (Kilmarnock Barassie)
Ayrshire Champion Of Champions - Scott Brown (Turnberry)
Doc Thom Ayrshire Order Of Merit - Michael Smyth (Royal Troon)

Fourball Championship
Kilbirnie Place
Champion Of Champions
Scott Brown

Matchplay Champion
Michael Smyth
Strokeplay Champion
Jamie Mackay

Club Champions

No comments: